Book Playlists: A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

My idea for this came from Angie over at Love Thy Shelf who did this amazing playlist for all these different books. I’ve really wanted to try making a playlist but I don’t normally connect books with music. But after I read A Million Miles Away, I found these songs that I felt went amazingly with the story. Warning: Most of these songs are depressing.

Laughing With – Regina Spektor

No one laughs at God in a war….

No one laughs at God
When the cops knock on their door
And they say we got some bad news, sir

Right after I finished this book, I played my Spotify radio and this song came up. All I could think was how perfectly it fit the whole book.

Fresh Pair of Eyes – Brooke Waggoner

‘Cause I want to be seen
With a fresh pair of eyes
The single white tree
In a black hood of disguise

This song really made me think about Kelsey pretending to be her twin, and then ending up falling in love with her twin’s boyfriend. I mean the lyrics themselves are explanatory enough.

The Scientist – Coldplay

Tell me your secrets
And ask me your questions
Oh, let’s go back to the start

Kelsey does a lot of getting to know her sister after her sister’s death and this song is really just that.

Dear Darlin’ – Olly Murs

Dear darlin’, please excuse my writing.
I can’t stop my hands from shaking
‘Cause I’m cold and alone tonight.

This song’s here because I need a letter themed song but also it’s pretty much what Peter is feeling.

Nothing Left to Lose – Kari Kimmel

I’ve got all the time in the world
and every night to think of you
and empty seems like to last forever
but I guess I’ve got nothing left to lose

Kelsey and Michelle definitely weren’t close before Michelle’s death, but what I love about the book was the journey of getting to know someone after they aren’t there and discovering the things they liked… really I just love the sistery bond.

So anyway, here’s my first ever book playlist! I really enjoyed this book and will post a review up soon. Have you guys read it? What do you think of my song picks? Tell me all about it!

love prima

Author: Prima

Still crazy obsessed with High School Musical and is disappointed real life high school did not involve as much singing and dancing. Super cynical about Disney movies and kdramas but still loves them. Blogs about books and feels.

2 thoughts on “Book Playlists: A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery”

Leave a comment