Wrapping Up 2015

2015

HAPPY NEW YEAR! I can’t believe it’s 2016 already, feels like 2015 was just a few days ago 😉 I’ve been seeing this all over my reader and it seems like a great way to wrap up the amazing year that was 2015. The survey is hosted over at The Perpetual Book Turner so go check it out!

reading stats

Number of Books read: 60 which was exactly the amount I needed for my Goodreads challenge. Finished a super short story hours before 2016!

Number of Re-reads: Maybe like 5? If you mean full re-reads then that’s just 1: The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Genre You Read From The Most: YA lol XD I guess specifically YA contemporary. Last year was a big contemporary year.

best books

Best Book: Angellfall by Susan Ee. It was tough to pick just one but honestly, this book was amazing.

Most Disappointing: Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines. I was so hyped up about this book… my feelings just fell so much while reading it

Most Surprising: Aimee and the Heartthrob by Ophelia London. I did not expect to like it as much as I did.

The One You Recommended Often (and people actually read): I don’t really recommend books to people but maybe Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep?

Best Series You Started in 2015: Black Blade by Jennifer Estep which is the series that Cold Burn of Magic belongs to. Just read it guys, it’s great 😀

Best Sequel: Jesse’s Girl by Miranda Kenneally. Just so cute.

Best Series Ender: The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead. While it might not have been a great series ender, it tied up everything in a nice bow which I really appreciated.

Best New (to you) Author: Jenny Han. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was a book I could not put down and was so easy to get through.

Best Book From A Genre That You Don’t Usually Read: Angelfall by Susan Ee. This book had me searching for some more apocalyptic YA.

Most Action: I’m going to say Hurricane Kiss by Deborah Blumenthal. I’ll talk about this more in my review.

Most Likely to Be Re-read in 2016: Madly by Amy Alward. I’ve already re-read parts of this book many times last year XD

Best Cover: My True Love Gave To Me has such a pretty cover and I just really like the little cartoon scene.

Best Character: Cath from Fangirl, purely because my memory is terrible and I only read Fangirl a few weeks ago.

Best Writing: Winter by Marissa Meyer because she kept me reading for at least 6 hours straight. I could’ve watched 6 episodes of kdrama in that time, that’s how hard it is for me to sit still and read 6 solid hours.

Most Thought Provoking: It’s weird that I’d say this but The Fill In Boyfriend by Kasie West. It looked like it was going to be a super fluffy read which is was but it had that bite at the end that made me really think about my life and society today.

The”Why Did I Not Read This Until Now?” Book: Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder. I’ve read other books of hers but never the one that started it all. And why did I not? I have no excuse, Poison Study was so good.

Best Quote: Any of the chapter quotes in Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby. I don’t know, I don’t really keep track of quotes.

Shortest and Longest Book Read: Shortest was The Little Android by Marissa Meyer, longest was Winter, also by Marissa Meyer. Isn’t that just a coincidence XD

Most Shocking: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy. There were just so many twists in the story.

OTP of the Year: Sydrian, Sydney and Adrian from The Bloodlines Series. Who else would even take this title. If you read some of my older posts, you would know how obsessed I am over them!

Non Romantic Relationship of the Year: Cinder and Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles soar past all the other contenders. Their chemistry together is amazing, especially since it’s not romantic.

Best Book by an Author You’ve Previously Read: Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. I didn’t enjoy the Heroes of Olympus series as much as I wanted to. Rick Riordan’s return to form in Magnus Chase made the book one of my most unexpected likes of the year.

Best Recommended Book: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. It took a while for me to get into it but, as my friend promised, it was amazing.

Best New Crush: Levi from Fangirl. He was just the sweetest and friendliest character

Best 2015 Debut: Madly by Amy Alward was a pretty strong debut. Ok, so I didn’t read that many debuts last year but still XD

Best World/Setting: Angelfall again. It’s just sweeping these titles one by one.

Most Fun: Spelled by Betsy Schow. It was just so much adventure and a mix of so many different things… how could it not be fun.

Most Teary: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson had me in so many tears at the end. I remember trying to get to sleep but then bursting into another round of tears thinking about the book.

Hidden Gem: The Ugly Stepsister by Aya Ling. More people need to read this and love it.

Most Soul Crushing: Nothing really fits into this one. Maybe The Little Android by Marissa Meyer because the ending was just… no.

Most Unique: Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley had a plot I never really heard about. A girl joining 4 other girls to attend a previously all boys military school… yeah, definitely a unique plot.

The Book You Raged At: The Jewel by Amy Ewing. I read this early on in the year but I still remember how I raged so much while reading it. I mean bloody Violet and Ash, ugh they were so stupid.

life

Best Book Blog Discovered in 2015: I’m gonna cheat and put 3: Addlepates and Book Nerds, The Girl Who Read Too Much, Book Enthral. All of them are amazing people who run amazing blogs.

Best Review: Honestly, I loved writing the review for Things We Know By Heart. I loved writing a love letter to the book and it was really fitting for the story. I also loved doing something a bit different with the review for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Best Non Review Post: Hands down The Taylor Swift Book Tag. I love Taylor Swift songs and books, it was a winning combination XD

Best Event Participated: I didn’t really participate in many events except for book tours… what events are there to participate in, yes I am a noob.

Best Moment of 2015: I won a giveaway in December for the Bloodlines Series and Soundless by Richelle Mead and honestly could not stop laughing because my entry to the competition went something like “My favourite character is Adrian because of his hair. His other qualities are just bonuses.”

Most Challenging: Posting regularly was just so hard in the middle of the year. I was in a reading slump as well at the time so I had no motivation.

Most Popular: The most popular post by views in 2015 was The Inside Out Tag but by comments it would be Movies That Should Be Turned Into Books

Most Underrated: I made a book playlist for A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery and it was super fun to do. Definitely going to try make more of these this year!

Best Bookish Discovery: Note to self: find more bookish things in 2016.

Reading Challenges/ Goals Completed: MY GOODREADS CHALLENGE FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER!

looking ahead

A Book That Will Get Top Priority in 2016: Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas. I need to get back into the series before the next one comes out.

Most Anticipated: PS I Like You by Kasie West like how can I not be so excited for this.

Most Anticipated Debut: No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista. It sounds really fluffly and really cute and that’s my kind of happy book 😀

Most Anticipated Sequel/ Series Ender: I basically only have one that works for this: Bright Blaze of Magic by Jennifer Estep. I devoured the first 2 books and can’t wait to read the finale.

To Accomplish in 2016:

  • To be more involved in the book blogging community. I find it really hard to join things online but I’m going to try my best in 2016! Even though I’ve been blogging since 2013, I feel like the 2nd half of 2015 was where I really started to make good quality content.
  • Re-design the blog because I don’t like how it looks right now. What do you guys think about the headers I made for this post? I think that’s the direction I’m going in.

2016 Recommendations to Everyone: Haven’t read anything from 2016 yet so can’t make any recs…

spacer

That’s one extremely long post so I am shocked if you read all of it. If you did, you are a true fan. Buy some ice cream for yourselves XD Anyways, here’s to a kickass 2016 guys!

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

8 thoughts on “Wrapping Up 2015”

  1. Happy New Year to you! It feels like 2015 wasn’t ready to be over yet XD Wow 60 books is a lot, well done on completing your challenge! I read 50 books, but some with graphic novels and short stories to catch up! I didn’t do any rereads but plan to read some this year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m in denial too! Time flies. Need to use the time productively!
        Well the only graphic novels I read was 4 volumes of the Walking Dead! It was really good if you like the Walking Dead! I hear that Saga is good, so maybe you might want to check that one out 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

