Top Ten Tuesday: Poor unfortunate souls

TTT big

Oh god, I have back to back Top Ten Tuesdays where is that consistent posting I promised weeks ago??

So this week on TTT it’s freebie week! As usual, I had no idea what to do but after scrolling through past TTT topics I found “Most Unfortunate Character Names” and it just clicked.

1. Chaol Westfall | Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Because this:

1280px-kale-bundle

2. Mare Barrow | Red Queen

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)Mare literally means a female horse… is it meant to be symbolic or something because I got none of that.

3. Maven | Red Queen

What??? Where is the author getting these from?

4. Β America Singer | The Selection

The Selection (The Selection, #1)She lives in America and she’s a singer!!! Well, she lives in what used to be America.

5.Β Renesmee Cullen | Twilight Saga

Twilight (Twilight, #1)Please never mashup names like this. Restrain yourselves.

6. Peeta Mellark | The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)Honestly, who doesn’t think this name is just ugly? I love Peeta, it’s just his name is horrible.

7. Valek | The Study Series

Poison Study (Study, #1)His name really made me want to say it in a Russian accent. You know with the throaty a’s.

8. Casimir | Ruined

Ruined (Ruined, #1)

I have no idea how to say this… cashmere without the h?

9. Cricket Bell | Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2)

How can you not think about cricket chirps with a name like that?


So basically every fantasy series! Seriously though, what is it with fantasy and really weird names?

β™₯ Prima

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Poor unfortunate souls”

      1. It’s been so long since I’ve read this series, my mind totally forgot the book is called Lola and the Boy Next door. I was like the girl’s name was cricket! Oh gosh, i’m sorry. Cricket was the boy next door wasn’t he? Or am I still way of? I need to re-read the books, it’s been years! Oops

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, join my kale club πŸ˜€ America Singer is such a cheesy name, I couldn’t have explained it better. And I swear the only reason I couldn’t like Lola and the Boy Next Door was because we were meant to love a guy called Cricket… yeah, that’s not going to happen πŸ˜„

      Like

  1. Hahaha! LOVE THIS. So many YA characters have such dumb names!

    Have you read The Rest of Us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness? He sends this up beautifully. All the girls in the ‘typical YA adventure’ part of the novel are called Satchel. As in, a sort of bag. It amuses me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

