Wild Swans by Jessica Spotwood

The summer before Ivy’s senior year is going to be golden; all bonfires, barbeques, and spending time with her best friends. For once, she will just get to be. No summer classes, none of Granddad’s intense expectations to live up to the family name. For generations, the Milbourn women have lead extraordinary lives—and died young and tragically. Granddad calls it a legacy, but Ivy considers it a curse. Why else would her mother have run off and abandoned her as a child?

But when her mother unexpectedly returns home with two young daughters in tow, all of the stories Ivy wove to protect her heart start to unravel. The very people she once trusted now speak in lies. And all of Ivy’s ambition and determination cannot defend her against the secrets of the Milbourn past….

Goodreads

The short version:  Just like Ivy, this book needed something special about it to become extraordinary… unfortunately it did not.

I wish I felt that way about something. Consumed by it.

Forget all the special one tropes you’ve read in YA because Wild Swans gives you Ivy, a girl born into a family of extraordinary women with extraordinary talents. Her grandfather has high standards for her, building her up for greatness but she just hasn’t found her calling yet. It’s very relatable to me and I think it will be to a lot of teenagers, almost out of high school but not quite. We’re all expected to have our lives set out before we are even 20 but that’s a lot of pressure for a major life decision.

It took me a few false starts but once I got into Wild Swans I could not put it down. If you’re friends with me on Goodreads you can see that I spent a month reading this XD I really enjoyed reading the middle bit of the book, it became so addictive to read. But the ending…it was like a storm that kept building and building and then suddenly its all sunny skies. WHAT THE HELL? Book, you promised me one thing and that was a good ending but you didn’t give me that!

Although the concept was good I felt like the characters themselves were really frustrating. It wasn’t just the really pushy grandfather but it was more Ivy herself. She was just so placid and obedient that it drove me crazy. She doesn’t like to push the boundaries and as the protaganist that meant that the plot was lacking that extra something. The only character I kind of liked was Erica, Ivy’s mum, who kicked the drama right up. She was a very interesting character who’d gone through the same experiences as Ivy but turned out so different. I would’ve really liked to see her POV because it would’ve had a bit of spark at least.

3

Big thanks to the publisher for sending me a review copy via Netgalley. 

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

5 thoughts on “Wild Swans by Jessica Spotwood”

  1. Hmmm … I am a little undecided about this one. I saw it on Netgalley and was debating with myself whether I should request it or not. I need books with good endings, I have read for too many with bad ones lately. I am glad you ended up enjoying it, even if it took a while, but I don’t think it will get priority on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

