Top Ten Tuesday | Books I picked up on a whim

Another Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and The Bookish! Honestly, I thought I read a lot of books on a whim. It just depends on how I’m feeling, what I feel like reading… I struggle with reading books when they’re popular! Surprisingly though, I found it really hard to come up with a list for this week because a lot of my recent reads I’ve found through blogs and Goodreads. I just think it’s just safer to get people’s thoughts before reading!

1. Dorothy Must Die | Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die, #1) My most recent read was on a whim! Wow that coincidence XD I’m pretty sure I got it because it was free on iBookstore.

2. Ink | Amanda Sun

Ink (Paper Gods, #1) THE COVER!!!!

3. Poison Study | Maria V. Snyder

Poison Study (Study, #1) I’d read Snyder’s Inside Out and Touch of Power but Poison Study was just a book I just suddenly picked up. It was awesome,

4. Sweet Evil | Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)This was a holiday whim. My family and I were driving down to Melbourne and that’s like an 8 hour trip so I had to get some books. Got so obsessed with Kaidan afterwards XD

5. Crave | Melissa Darnell

Crave (The Clann, #1)Read it along with Sweet Evil. It was a really long trip.

6. Firstlife | Gena Showalter

Firstlife (Everlife, #1)Firstlife was part of the only book haul I’ve ever done. I literally just grabbed 6 books and bought them.

7. The Darkest Minds | Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)Ok, look it was super cheap in Big W and it was the end of 2014 so I had to buy it. Thank god I did because it was amazing, made a great reading start for 2015!

8. Rebel Wing | Tracy Banghart

Rebel Wing (Rebel Wing #1) Way back when I was just starting out on Netgalley, I requested Rebel Wing because of its cover.

9. Minders | Michele Jaffe

MindersI remember finding this in my local library and just borrowed it because it was new. Yes, I know I am a sucker for new books especially in libraries.

10. Black City | Elizabeth Richards Black City (Black City, #1)

I have no idea how or where I found Black City. I really should finish the series soon.

So have you picked up any books on a whim? Did you love them or hate them?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Books I picked up on a whim”

  1. I rarely pick up books on a whim! I always need to know if people like it or not, so I’m always reading the reviews – both good and bad to see if its something I want to read. The Ink cover looks gorgeous. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed, reviews are a great way to gauge the pros and cons of the books! There’s just so many books out there and too little time to read so I’d definitely want to spend more time reading books I like.
      Ink isn’t just a pretty cover, it also has a little flipbook on sides of the pages 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I just read Dorothy Must Die. How did you find it? There were parts that I liked but overall I found it kind of frustrating. The writing style drove me crazy! I hated the way Amy would just jump to ridiculous conclusions about everything that had no basis in what was actually in front of her but was somehow always magically correct?

    Also, have you read any more of the series? I’m in two minds about continuing. The ending made me want to know what happens next, but a couple people have told me that the series gets worse as it progresses and I couldn’t read worse, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree with you! Amy was such a frustrating character to read about, spent most of the book just going wtf at all her actions.
      I think I might give the sequel a read, if only to know what happens. All the novellas and prequels though… I’m definitely giving them a pass XD

      Like

      1. I know! There are so many. Sometimes it just starts to feel like the author is milking it a bit. Although maybe she’s trying to make up for the huge amounts of plot she skirts over? I can see why she would want to do that…

        Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

