Ghetto by M.L. Sparrow | Real Dystopia Talk!

Ghetto

Goodreads | Author 
Publication Date: 15th September 2015
Rating: 4/5 bamboo sticks

My name’s Sunny Grace Beaumont. Branded SGB/2/6895/03.12.93. Only child, self-taught computer geek and cancer survivor. Oh, and did I mention my dad’s the President? As you can imagine that’s sometimes a little problematic, especially when I want to sneak out. But it never got me into quite as much trouble as the night I ventured into the Ghetto – don’t ask me why I was there in the first place… it was stupid. Everyone knows that the Ghetto is where hardened criminals are sent to live out the remainder of their lives. At first the men that kidnap me are just as I’d imagine, mean and thoughtless, but slowly I begin to have doubts.

I meet a guy. His name’s Sin, he has no Brand – a crime punishable by death – and he’s the rebel leader. I should hate him… but I don’t. Instead he opens my eyes to a whole other side of the Ghetto, where people are innocent of the crimes they’re accused of and helpless children suffer dreadful poverty. Is it possible that I’ve been lied to my entire life… that the governments been deceiving everyone? And how can I challenge the law my own dad is adamant to uphold?

A big shoutout to the author for sending me a review copy! 

Be prepared to be surprised because Ghetto was surprisingly great. Yes, it did have its cliches and in the beginning I was so annoyed by the information dumps but the characters really shine over all that.

Let’s start with the introduction which I didn’t really like. I kept getting this vibe that I read the plot before… mum dies of cancer because she doesn’t want to give up the baby… it’s really familiar. Anyone know of the book? Anyways, there was a lot of information being slapped into your face in the first chapters and while it got me into the world, I feel like it could have been better integrated. At this point, I knew there was a lot of potential but it just wasn’t quite there yet.

It got there, guys. The rest of the book was awesome. The world was so interesting and detailed. I loved how the whole book wasn’t really about a Hunger Games like revolution even though we have rebels. It was more about distributing what the minority need: food and supplies. It’s not about the big wars and rebellions but about the small things which makes it really stand out in the dystopia genre. I mean, who thinks about the food and everyday items like light bulbs, soap etc when the rebels are all out fighting?

Sunny was a great lead who had brains and kindness. When she realises the truth about the Ghetto, she doesn’t hesitate to help. We also get Sin who is one of the best leaders I’ve read about in dystopian worlds. The combination of tough and kind is a cliche but the author writes it into Sin so well that you can’t help but love him!

Final verdict: It’s a diamond in the rough, but it’s still a diamond and it’s worth it!

sign

 

 

Author: Prima

Still crazy obsessed with High School Musical and is still disappointed real life high school did not involved as much singing and dancing. Almost 18 but relates to 5 year olds. Super cynical about Disney movies and kdramas but still loves them. Blogs about books and feels.

7 thoughts on “Ghetto by M.L. Sparrow | Real Dystopia Talk!”

  1. I know what you mean by the story sounding familiar in the beginning, but it kind of struck a chord with me, because my aunt died of cancer because she didn’t want to risk my cousin’s life by getting chemo therapy.
    I enjoyed the book for the same reasons as you did though. It wasn’t the big violent revolution where they had to fight their way to the capitol to win the war, but rather the secret deal from the inside. Getting attention to the public about what is going on and making sure that people don’t have their basic rights violated.
    Only Sin’s family background felt a little randomly thrown in there for me hahaha but I didn’t want to talk about that in my review as to not give anything away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess there really is life in death though I’m sorry for your loss. Cancer is so unpredictable, it must have been very tough for her.
      The whole family background thing was so weird. I mean do we need all these links? Not really but ok I’ll go with it XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

