What the hell is recommending?

HELLO!! It’s me (I was wondering if after all these weeks you’d like to meet). How are you all doing? Sorry I haven’t posted a lot, I’ve been in quite a reading slump and swamped by school. Anyways, I promise I will try to post more in the next few weeks. Ok I said that the last post but … 😀

Onto the topic! All true book lovers have a Goodreads account… well at least 99% do. It’s basically a Facebook for all things bookish and it’s looking pretty sleek since the last update. There’s reviews, book pages, groups… oh what’s this… recommendations? 

There’s two types of recommendations on Goodreads: the recommendations from people and the recommendation from Goodreads. Let’s talk about people recommendations first.

I’ve gotten a couple of recommendations since I’ve gotten Goodreads years ago but never have sent one. Some of my Goodreads friends are people I know in real life but most are people I’ve talked to through book blogging. Everytime I finish a book Goodreads lists my friends and reasons why I should recommend it to them but I don’t know…it feels kind of awkward to send a recommendation to someone you’ve never met. Also, sometimes it’s just not their kind of book.

All these thoughts just go around in my head. What if they hate the book but I love it? What if they think it’s weird a person that they don’t really know suggests something to them??

The next type of recommendations is the ones by the website. Honestly, I really love the recommendations but I don’t really pick any of them up. It’s tailored according to your shelves but I have a very messy Goodreads library with no categories so XD

Here’s my question to you. Do you read the books Goodreads recommends you? Have you ever gotten or sent recommendations on Goodreads? How many of those do you/ the recipient read?

That’s all from me today. Feel free to recommend me something on Goodreads to get me out of this reading slump. You’ll have saved a life 😉

sign

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

7 thoughts on “What the hell is recommending?”

  1. I already have like 10000 books on my TBR so I usually don’t really pay attention to the recommendations done by goodreads. But omg Prima! If you wanna start sending me recommendations I’d be so happy!!! I don’t really have people in my life to recommend me awesome book (except for like the 3 trillion of you all online) but I’d love recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesss I’ll totally be sending recommendations to you now! I totally relate, I don’t know a lot of people who are bookish in real life so the book community online is just amazing 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t read books recommended by goodreads but I’d like to check them out whenever I’m bored. I send recommendations on goodreads to only specific readers who l think will love reading it. To get you out from a reading slump, I would recommend Broken Skies by Theresa Kay. It’s a YA sci-fi novel filled with action, romance and adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

