Books Anonymous: Repeat after me, books aren’t decorations

Books Anonymous is a new feature on Panda Hearts Books basically discussing bookish problems. Come join me every week to talk about your addictions and if you’ve learnt how to handle them.

Hi, my name is Prima and I have a problem with buying books… because of their prettiness.

Let’s be honest, we all love a beautiful cover. I mean take the Firebird series by Claudia Gray.

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird, #2)A Million Worlds with You (Firebird, #3)

JUST LOOK AT ALL THE PRETTY! I would stillย buy them even if the story is the worst thing I’ve ever read and that’s a pretty weird reason to buy a book. A book is something you would read but I would buy it purely for decoration.The thing is, how far would you go buying books based on their covers and not their content?

Personally, I’m a very cheap book buyer so I tend to really think about my purchases but recently I’ve been becoming a really big book cover whore. Take for example the beginning of the end:

THE SPINE ๐Ÿ˜ 1 down 5 to go! #mortalinstruments #shadowhunters #cassandraclare #books #bookstagram

A post shared by Prima (@pandaheartsbooks) on

As you can see in exhibit A, I have bought a book I’ve already read because I love the spine. Now most of you probably know this but the new spinesย of the Mortal Instrument series make a giant picture which means this first book would lookย waaay better with the second book and the third book and the fourth book and the… well you get what I mean XD That’s right, I’m 90% sure by the end of the year I’ll have the full set which means I will have double copies of City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire. Book cover lust knows no bounds.

So you don’t think Exhibit A is bad? Well let’s look at Exhibit B: All Fall Down by Ally Carter.

All Fall Down (Embassy Row, #1)

I was just strolling though Big W (it’s like a Target in the US basically) when I saw this book in hardcover. The cover is so so but the colours… don’t even get me started on their vibrancy, and the saturation. Then I opened it and saw the most beautiful sight.

The inner line of the hardback was a beautiful shade of purple.

So I bought it. I had never heard of the book before that but I bought it because the inside of the cover was such a pretty purple. I didn’t really like the story but it doesn’t even matter because I love the purple so much.

So there’s my story, what about you? Have you got any spur of the moment cover love buys? Any double copies on your shelves?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

9 thoughts on “Books Anonymous: Repeat after me, books aren’t decorations”

  1. OMG THAT COVER THOUGH!!!! Why haven’t I seen the 3rd cover of the Firebird series yet?!! NOW I can die happily! Okay… that was a bit dramatic but yes I can’t resist beautiful covers! It would have helped if I was not broke right now but yeah…. I don’t have any double copies but I really want the new MI set because it’s gorgeous! *sighs*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to get the new covers of the Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices as well :/ and that even though I already own book 1-3 of TMI in German and English… My parents therefore won’t let me spend the money … I WANT THEM SO BAD THOUGH!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tend to buy the classics when they have fab hardback editions – usually cloth covers – even though I know I’ll never really want to read them… I love modern literature way too much! RE City of Bones, those spines are totally amazing, I so get it! My last ‘cover love’ purchased was Unmade by Amy Rose Capetta – sooooooo pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unmade has such a amazing cover! Great choice ๐Ÿ˜‰ I would totally get the fabric hardbacks if they weren’t so expensive. They’re so pretty :3

      Like

  4. Ah, pretty book covers. They lure us in!

    Even though the new Mortal Instruments covers are GORGEOUS, I couldn’t justify buying them since I already have the complete set of the old covers (and they’re signed). But I entered a giveaway for them, and won! ๐Ÿ˜€ Which was amazing, because they are just so gorgeous *heart eyes*

    Oh, the All Fall Down cover is one of my absolute favourites! THE PINKS. ALL THE PINKS.

    I definitely buy books just for their covers, and sometimes they turn out to be books I love (like Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier), and sometimes they turn out to be busts. But at least they’re gorgeous ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SIGNED MORTAL INSTRUMENTS WHAAA??? I’m so jealous! Haha it’s good to hear I’m not the only one with a weakness for covers ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sorry for this really late reply!

      Like

Let's talk about it

