A cute murder mystery… whaaa?? | Holding Court by K.C. Held

Holding Court

Goodreads | Author 
Publication Date: 1st March 2016
Rating: 4/5 bamboo sticks
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what’s in store at her new job at castle-turned-dinner-theater Tudor Times. Some extra cash, wearing a fancy-pants dress, and plenty of time to secretly drool over the ever-so-tasty–and completely unavailable–Grayson Chandler. Except that it’s not quite what she imagined.

For one, the costume Jules has to wear is awful. Then there’s the dead body she finds that just kind of…well, disappears. Oh, and there’s the small issue of Jules and her episodes of what her best friend calls “Psychic Tourette’s Syndrome”–spontaneous and uncontrollable outbursts of seemingly absurd prophecies.

The only bright side? This whole dead body thing seems to have gotten Grayson’s attention. Except that the more Jules investigates, the more she discovers that Grayson’s interest might not be as courtly as she thought. In fact, it’s starting to look suspicious…

Big thanks to Entangled Publishing for providing me a copy via Netgalley!

Verdict: Mystery and murder surprisingly go really well with cute romance and general teen angst. 

Holding Court by K.C. Held… Ultimate punning right there, I will not apologise XD

Who doesn’t just blurt embarrassing things out?

What made this book so good was the concept of the plot. Jules’ psychic Tourette’s Syndrome was hilarious in the best ways. It’s not that she’s awkward or anything just that her gift is in this form and that was just great! They always came at the worst possible moment but I loved how it all tied into the mystery and gave us sly hints. The murder mystery was really intriguing and it sounds weird but it really works in a book as cute as this. It was able to go pretty scary and I appreciate that.

The “I’m ugly” trope

The one thing that really annoyed me about Jules was her “I’m ugly but actually super hot” cliche. It’s a thing I really see in Wattpad and I don’t want to associate this amazing book with some of that crap but it’s hard not to. It’s just such an overused trope that I was just rolling my eyes so much. Thankfully, there’s a lot more happening than this.

Happyland vibes aka theme park behind the scenes

I really do like stories that show the BTS of theme parks and how they’re not so shiny and perfect. While it wasn’t as big of a part in Holding Court as in How Zoe blah blah, I loved the setting and all the characters that came with it. We got a King Henry obsessed owner, a quirky grandma who can see people’s auras, an award winning costume designer… you name it! Everyone was really likeable and it made reading it just that much better. Also, Jules’ job description is just perfect for her!

The romance!

Omg the romance was adorable. Grayson was just so sweet. Ok, well he wasn’t that sweet at the beginning but by the end, I was totally rooting for Jules because damn that boy is hot. I love how the grandma shipped them so hard XD She was me if I was in the story, all like “Hmmm, I see your auras but I’m not going to tell you what I see but wink wink nudge nudge”.

spacer

Honestly, if this isn’t on your 2016 TBRs add it now because it’s a great book. It’s not often that a book can be so cute and have a murder mystery too 😀

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

7 thoughts on “A cute murder mystery… whaaa?? | Holding Court by K.C. Held”

  1. Glad the psychic Tourette’s Syndrome delivered in the comedy department! This sounds like a really cute read and the ‘Happyland vibes’ are totally selling me on this one. #booklove #2016wishlist

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

