TTT: It’s hard to read outside your comfort zone

ttt

As always hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

I am a big comfort reader which means I tend to stick to books that are all pretty similar so mainly fantasies and fluffly contemporaries. I know there’s a lot out there in YA like LGBTQ and mental illnesses but I feel like all of them are just so angsty. Any recommendations?

Here are some that I tried out:

1. Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)

I’ve said this so many times but this book is so good! Never thought I’d be saying that about an apocalyptic plot XD

2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

Sci-fi isn’t really my thing but Illuminae was so well written that I couldn’t resist. Also pictures.

3. Hurricane Kiss by Deborah Blumenthal

Hurricane Kiss

Ok I’ll admit the romance drew me into this book but I finished in shock and horror of the hurricane. The natural disaster aspect of the book was crazy intense.

4. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)

I put The Raven Boys off for so long and I finally read it last year! It’s still not my type of book but I appreciate the Pynch πŸ˜‰

5. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, #1)

This was a school read but it was strangely hilarious and thought provoking. Seriously, you should give this a try.

6. Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley

Rites of Passage

One I read early in the year and it had a really memorable plot. If you want to read about females in the military being badasses, this is the book for you!

7. We Were LiarsΒ by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

All the mystery and suspense in this one… it’s a winner. It started off pretty boring, I’ll admit but the ending was crazy good. I did not see it coming at all!!

There’s my ratherΒ short list for this week’s TTT! What books did you have on yours? Got any good recommendations for non angsty LGBTQ? Let me know πŸ˜€

 

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

5 thoughts on “TTT: It’s hard to read outside your comfort zone”

  1. Great picks! I actually feel The Raven Cycle is quite different from the typical YA books, quite dark and simmering, if that makes sense.

    I do actually have a recommendation for non-angsty LGBTQ! Well, maybe some angst, but it’s really funny too especially if you’re familiar with fandoms. The book in question is How to Repair a Mechanical Heart by J. C. Lillis. It’s not super popular, but it was very enjoyable to me.

    And here’s my TTT. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! The Raven Boys has a totally different feel to it. I guess that’s why it drew in so many people. And thank you for the recommendation! I’ll have to read it soon, it sounds amazing. Also fandoms πŸ˜€

      Like

Let's talk about it

