In The Ring: Jennifer E. Smith vs Jennifer E. Smith

The first book I read this year was The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. It was so good that I read This Is What Happy Looks Like a week after. What happens when you read two books with extremely long titles from the same author in the same week? They have it to fight it out for my love.

Round 1: The Plot and Setting

SP:Β SUCH A CUTE PLOT! I love all the what if scenarios and the aspect of chance. It all happens in a day and that just really speeds up the plot so much.

Imagine if she hadn’t forgotten the book. She wouldn’t have had to run back into the house while Mom waited outside with the car running…

Imagine if she hadn’t waited to try on her dress… if she hadn’t given herself a paper cut, if she hadn’t lost her phone charger…

How can you not be enchanted by that intro? Also, Britain? Yes.

WHLL: Again, I loved the whole chance element of the plot but it just had too many contemporary cliches like the whole small town girl meets city boy. Also, the whole movie star accidently emails the wrong person is not very realistic. Ok, both these plots aren’t but I can still hold out hope into bumping into my one true love at an airport XD The whole town was really captivating because I love small towns. They just have such a great vibe.

Round 1 Winner: Statistical

Round 2: The characters

SP: Hadley is pretty annoying at the start with all the moaning about her “deadbeat” dad who’s not even that bad. But I like her character development in the plot. Oliver was kind of meh aka he’s not Etienne St. Clair. I expect all British love interests to be Etienne in a way but Oliver was pretty decent.

WHLL: I really love Ellie, don’t ask me why but I do. She wasn’t starstruck by Graham and that really made her that much better. Also, Graham has a pig called Wilbur, just the feels.

Round 2 Winner: Happy

Round 3: The Romance

SP: Strangely enough, I felt like there wasn’t a lot of romance in this one. It might be because it’s written in a non linear way which gave the effect of a slow burn but really it happens in like a few hours. Either way it was really cute and I totally ship them πŸ˜€

WHLL: I like Ellie and Graham’s relationship when they weren’t so familiar with each other because the mystery and them just missing each other was so satisfying. After they turned into a couple, the book turned into just another YA contemporary.

Round 3 Winner: Statistical

WINNER: THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT

Let me know what your thoughts on these books are! Are you planning to read it? Have you read it? I’m also really curious about which one you like more. Tell me all about it πŸ˜€

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “In The Ring: Jennifer E. Smith vs Jennifer E. Smith”

Let's talk about it

