TTT: Songs and books that are in perfect harmony

top ten tuesdays blue

Can I just say that I am terrible at free choice TTTs. Most of the time I can’t even decide what to eat for lunch! This idea came to me in the middle of the night so let’s just see how I go with it XD This is a list of songs that work so well with books.

1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins | Home by Gabrielle Aplin

‘Cause they say home is where your heart is set in stone
Is where you go when you’re alone
Is where you go to rest your bones

It’s not just where you lay your head
It’s not just where you make your bed
As long as we’re together, does it matter where we go?

ISN’T THIS SONG JUST PERFECT??? The first time I heard it I immediately thought of Anna and Etienne.

2. Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout | Let’s not fall in love by Big Bang

A kpop song for a book about kpop 😀 This is the song I imagine Eden to sing for some reason but I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t be… oh well, it’s a great song!

3. Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker | Dark Times by The Weeknd and Ed Sheeran

This ain’t the right time for you to fall in love with me
Well baby I’m just being honest
And I know my lies could not make you believe
We’re running in circles that’s why

The feel of this song was really similar to the feel of the book. It’s kind of gritty and dark, plus it’s about going through “dark times” 😉

4. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Roman Holiday by Halsey

Again, it’s more of the feel than actual lyrics. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was such a fun, fluffy read with a kind of reflective tone and Roman Holiday is a really upbeat song that’s not too happy but not complete angst. I don’t know how to explain it LOL

5. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson | Back to December by Taylor Swift

Your guard is up and I know why.
Because the last time you saw me
Is still burned in the back of your mind.
You gave me roses and I left them there to die.

ANOTHER PERFECT SONG! Taylor hasn’t seen Henry in years and when she left they were in the middle of a relationship. I can totally imagine Henry bringing flowers to her empty house.

6. Lost and Found by Nicole Williams | Unconditionally by Katy Perry

I’ll take your bad days with your good
Walk through the storm I would
I do it all because I love you, I love you

Obviously, this is about Rowan and Jesse’s relationship. He’ll stick with her no matter what her past was and that is what their love is all about.

7. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith | Alive by Gabrielle Aplin

Just one step
A different day
Would I know you at all?

I love the use of fate in this book. The whole book is this song. The whole prologue is the first few lines of the song. They’re actually a match made in heaven 😀

8. Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead | Till the Sun Burns Out by [SEBELL]

Cause if falling into love
Is Heaven’s wonder drug
I’m addicted and only you can fix me

I would’ve never pictured Bloodlines with such an upbeat song but it kind of works in a weird way… for me at least! The lyrics are what I think Adrian’s feelings toward Sydney are. I loved the lyric above because remember Adrian’s drinking addiction? It’s fitting that it becomes an addiction to Sydney XD

9. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare | Keeping Your Head Up by Birdy

Let go of all your haunted dreams tonight
I’ll be keeping your head up
I’ll be keeping your head up, darling

I don’t know why only the non contemporaries have really happy songs for them XD Anyways, Jace in City of Bones was like really angsty and troubled but then Clary comes along and that all changes. The song is about helping someone become stronger and even though Jace is the best shadowhunter ever, he still needs Clary to be there for him.

Why did I pick such a hard theme this week?? Anyways, what did you think of these songs with these books? What songs do you associate with them?
Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

6 thoughts on “TTT: Songs and books that are in perfect harmony”

  1. I love this post! I haven’t actually done a TT post ever, but every so often I see a ‘theme’ like this and think “darn, I need to do that meme!”. Lol. My fav match-up here is City of Bones and Birdy. ❤️

    Like

    1. Confession: I just really like that Birdy song and had to put it in this post XD It does match up with City of Bones though! TT posts are really fun to do but they are pretty time consuming 😀

      Like

Let's talk about it

