Could’ve been spicier? | Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Goodreads | Author 
Publication Date: 10th September 2013
Rating: 3.5/5 bamboo sticks
Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Fangirl was one of my most anticipated reads last year and I finally got around to reading it in the Christmas holidays when my family and I drove down to Melbourne. That’s right, drove which means 7 hours of sitting, which I spent either sleeping or reading. So am I a fangirl for Fangirl? Yeah… not so much.

Fangirl points
  • OMG LEVI BE STILL MY HEART. He is cinnamon roll too pure for this world, honestly the sweetest guy to have ever been written in a YA book. He was just perfect for Cath and just all round amazing guy. I loved how he was really interested in Cath’s fanfic and ugh just perfect.
  • There are a lot of different characters in this book and they’re all so incredibly complex, which I appreciate. It’s not just the main characters that were really interesting but the secondary characters were surprisingly well developed.
  • The emotions and relationships in this book were written so well. I’m definitely going to try out the other Rainbow Rowell books because damn, has she got the feels down. It’s not just the romance that was written really well but the sistership between Wren and Cath and the parentalship between Cath and her dad. Just the connections between characters were so vivid and strong.
Cranky Points
  • Fangirl was way too hyped. I went into it expecting the most amazing book ever written but I got a pretty standard contemporary. It’s unfair to judge it like that but after all the praise it’s gotten, there’s no way I could’ve felt not disappointed.
  • Confession: I didn’t really like Cath. I felt no connection with her which was what really dragged the whole book for me. I just couldn’t relate to how immature she was throughout the whole book. I get that that’s what makes her her but it got to a point where I just couldn’t deal with her anymore. I was just yelling at her to GROW UP!
  • The fanfic did nothing for the story. It just kind of interrupted the flow when it was just getting good. Doesn’t mean I won’t read Carry On though because I think it’s a pretty good story! Also, Baz XD

Verdict: It’s not a story about fandom as much as it is about Cath’s fandom; her sister, Levi, her dad, Reagan… you get what I mean! It’s pretty much your average contemporary read so it’s still pretty enjoyable.

 

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

15 thoughts on “Could’ve been spicier? | Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell”

  1. Thank you for this! I haven’t read Fangirl yet, and because of all the hype, I’m kind of scared to pick it up. I’m glad to hear you didn’t love it as much as everyone else did! But Rainbow Rowell really does know how to write feelings and stuff, so…maybe I’ll check it out just for that :p

    Like

  2. See I totally get the hype thing! I personally LOVED this book but I went into it not really knowing to much about it first! Plus I’m also a twin (so I was loving/super connecting to that side of it as well). I’m glad you loved Levi! HE IS ACTUALLY ONE OF MY FAVOURITE CHARACTERS EVER! He and Rowan from ToG are the reason my book boyfriend standards are so high! haha! I hope you enjoy Carry On!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry that the hype got to you on this one, Prima! I read it when it was released, and I absolutely fell in love with it. I really connected to Cath and practically everything that happened to her in this book, so that’s definitely one of the reasons I loved it so much.

    OHMYGOSH Levi is seriously one of the cutest characters EVER. I mean, he’s not perfect, but he is really lovely *squish hugs him*

    I still haven’t read Carry On, but I hope that it’s good! I’ve heard some pretty positive thins about it, so hopefully that bodes well!

    The only other Rowell book I’ve read is Attachments, and I ADORED IT. So I hope you pick up that one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh, I see, a lot of reviews said the same. I’m really sad that I didn’t like it as much as I should’ve. I’ll give Attachments a try because the blurb sounds so damn cute! I’M SO EXCITED FOR CARRY ON! Honestly just need more Baz and Simon in my life. And yeah there are heaps of good reviews for it… definitely is amazing then 😀

      Like

  4. I haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell yet, but there sure IS a lot of hype surrounding her books. I have a copy of Eleanor and Park, so I’m going to start there. The next big book I’ve heard about is Carry On – which is supposed to be amazing. (Fangirl I’m now not as desperate to read, although Levi sounds cute.) Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like Eleanor and Park might have a completely different tone to Fangirl so I think I’ll check it out. Definitely looking forward to reading Carry On! You should give Fangirl a try though, even if it’s just for Levi 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with this review!! The only thing about Fangirl that I LOVED was Levi!!! He is one of my favorite YA characters ever, he is so sweet. The rest of the book was just … meh; overhyped, like you put it.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

