Kissing in the rain is not going to happen: Hurricane Kiss by Deborah Blumethal

Hurricane Kiss

Goodreads | Author 
Publication Date: 1st May 2016
Rating: 3.5/5 bamboo sticks
For sixteen-year-old Jillian McKay, the threat of Hurricane Danielle means a long car ride with her neighbors–including River Daughtry, the former star quarterback of Harrison High. The guy who was headed to glory until suddenly he disappeared to a West Texas juvenile detention center. Once cocky and flirtatious, he’s now silent and angry. When their evacuation route is gridlocked, River is the first to recognize the danger they’re in. Together he and Jillian set out to seek shelter in their abandoned high school. As they wait out the storm, they confront the past and realize survival is about more than just staying alive–it’s about fighting for yourself.

 

Big thanks to Albert Whitman & Company for sending me a copy via Netgalley!

First review of 2016, yay! If natural disaster stories and contemporaries ever had babies, this book would be it. I didn’t know what to expect going into Hurricane Kiss but it gave me so much to enjoy.

It took me a while to get into the book but that might’ve been just me. I didn’t really like the alternating POVs especially as they experienced the same things as they were together for most of the story. It also alternated a lot between flashbacks and the present and it was just really confusing and just made me feel like I was dragging through the book. I get that the flashbacks were meant to add more depth but it really just made the plot slow.

The characters themselves were pretty interesting and I would’ve liked to read about their backstory in other circumstances. I’m a sucker for damaged good boys like River. I love the angst they go through and how we get to see how it’s changed them in some ways but they’re good people at heart, which is just great. This is where the contemporary feels kicked in and really brought the emotion into the book. Honestly though, I didn’t really make much of a connection with the two mains. They were pretty forgettable, cookie cutter contemporary tropes.

The bright point of this book was definitely the hurricane. I loved it. It was so action packed and thrilling and horrifying all in one. I was very scared for River and Jillian at times. The author mentions in the acknowledgements that she drew from people’s and her own experiences of hurricanes which just punched me straight in the guy. I could never imagine these people’s experience until I read this book. It creates such a vivid setting for the readers to go through themselves.

TL;DR: Pretty forgettable. Add to your to reads but may sit there for a while. Needs a certain mood to get into it. 
Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

