Off Topic: My Obsession with Selfie

off topic.pngBefore you all judge me I’m not talking about like selfie stick selfies, I’m talking about the short lived show Selfie starring Karen Gillian (you know from Doctor Who and Guardians of the Galaxy) and John Cho (from Star Trek which I’ve never watched)

After watching Natalie Tran’s Asians in Media talk, I was really intrigued to see how Selfie depicted Asians.

I ended up watching 10 episodes in one sitting. I thought I’d hate it because any show called Selfie just wants hate but it’s actually really good! There was a great set of characters, a slight satire on our society of social media addicts with some great dialogue.Β So three reasons why you should watch Selfie:

Asian love interest/ male lead

Henry Higgs is the best thing of this show. I love how they acknowledge that he’s Korean with like sly little drops but it’s not racist funny. It’s just funny. We get great scenes from the Asian jokes but they don’t crap all over Asians either (thank god no Asian accent mocking). Also, the chemistry between John Cho and Karen Gillian…

Only 13 episodes

Honestly, this show benefits so much from a short run. It’s like a kdrama where you get so much action and interest in a mere 10-20 episodes. Everything gets a bit sped up and that’s great because no way am I going to watch a show where the whole first season is will they won’t they.

The characters

They’re all just so quirky, I love them. We have the self absorbed Eliza Dooly who’s a narcissist but we love her anyway. We have the sassy receptionist Charmonique, the slightly deranged scientist Larry, the office hunk Freddie and the uber cool boss. The cast both main and supporting are amazing.

I love Charmonique XD

So anyway, that’s all the rambling I’ll do. Tell me about your favourite tv shows!

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

8 thoughts on “Off Topic: My Obsession with Selfie”

  1. Selfie was really fun while it lasted πŸ˜€
    I could never narrow it down and say I have one favourite show. I like so many things and many of them don’t even make sense, because they are all different genres. The list looks somewhat like that Chicago Fire, Chicago PD, Chicago Med, Doctor Who, Sherlock, The Royals, Agents of SHIELD, iZombie, Veronica Mars, Dollhouse, Misfits, Undateable, …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never heard of this show before! But since it’s so short, I think I might just have to watch it… The only problem is I’ll probably get addicted and not want it to end!
    Thanks for visiting Addlepates and Book Nerds πŸ™‚

    Like

Let's talk about it

