SHADOWHUNTERS!

This whole week has just been great for Mortal Instrument fans. First, we got a short promo on snapchat. Next, we got a one minute teaser and a premiere date for 12th January. Then, we got 2 3 minute long teasers.


I just saw these today and just knew I had to discuss it.

I’m just loving the whole vibe of the show from these teasers. Of course, these were my favourite scenes in the book so I have some slight bias. The special effects are pretty bad but since the teasers are apparently very rough cuts, it can be excused. It feels like a lot of information is gonna be pumped into the pilot, makes sense considering it’s the introduction but it just seems really badly integrated. That scene where Jace bumps into Clary and he’s just like “You have the Sight” out of the blue. Um ok, sure she knows what you mean Jace.

Onto the characters:

The girl playing Clary… yeah, I don’t know about her. She seems way too sexy to be Clary who is the most innocent person ever and she does a lot of overacting. I think as the season goes on she’ll grow more into her character but right now, no. But you know who’s totally into character? Simon. I’m loving him because he was already so freaking adorable in the teasers.

Can I just say that I already love Jace and Alec as parabatai? There’s this one shot where they’re fighting and it’s just so cool to see how they help each other out and finally end by killing the one demon together. Feeling the parabatai bond 😀

Honestly, I don’t care if Dominic Sherwood looks way too old to be Jace, he’s got it. Hopefully he gets more snarky in the later episodes because that was my biggest complaint for film Jace.

Hopefully he gets more snarky in the later episodes is also what I’d say for Magnus. Harry Shum Jr is doing a great job as Magnus so far. He’s got the magic down though, threatening Valentine’s goons who, thankfully, are not dumbasses like they were in the film (Throwback: “I don’t like the basement”). They’ve got a men in black thing going on that works.

Why was Isabelle doing a weird strip dance for the demons? Like, I know they’re going to change things from the book but what was the point of her going incognito then taking off her disguise to do a dance for the demons?

Anyway, it’s been a while since I wrote a rant like this. What do you guys think of the teasers? Are you going to watch it next year?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

3 thoughts on “SHADOWHUNTERS!”

  1. I’m so excited for this show to come out!!! I agree, of course it’s not perfect. But was it ever going to be? Simon is adorable, and he was my favourite character so I’m super happy about that 😀
    Thanks for visiting Addlepates and Book Nerds!

    Like

Let's talk about it

