KDrama Lessons

Since I’m talking about kdrama, I have to post my all time favourite scene:

Basically, I’ve gotten addicted to kdrama again (this time it’s Kill Me Heal Me, which is where the scene above is from) and I just have to talk about it. What makes them so good?

Guys make great girls, girls make great guys

Gender bender is a big thing in kdramas. In my current drama, the guy has multiple personality disorder and one of the personalities is a teenage girl. The guy is also like 30 so let’s take a moment to visualise that- oh wait no need:

And for the girls:

Cute goes well with darkness

It’s amazing how big of an emotional span kdramas have. It can go from cutesy, funny scenes to murder. Take for example Girl Who Sees Smells (no I didn’t make that name up, don’t judge) where we get heaps of funny from the two main leads but the villain is creepy as crap. Like psychopath level creepy.Β He literally keeps his victims for a week in his secret room so they write a diary for him to keep. On the other hand there’s also a lot of this:

Don’t be a noble hero

There’s always that drama where the hero/ heroine sacrifices themselves for what they think is the greater good. Usually, it means not dating the other lead because his/ her chaebol (rich) family disapproves. You can see this in romance books as well, just how many times does the poor girl have to leave the rich guy because his family disapproves. This leads to the last point.

Poor girls are doormats

Poor girl/ rich guy romances are a big thing in kdramas and I guess in books too. I mean look at The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. One of the main reasons why I didn’t like it was because I read just when I started Boys Over Flowers. Honestly, I hate Boys Over Flowers and some of that residual hate crept over but now looking at it, it’s a good book. The problem is in kdramas that the poor girl is often just a doormat basically. Prime example: Heirs, which is the worst kdrama don’t try and convince me otherwise. What I think contemporaries do really well in comparison to kdramas is they present strong female characters almost all the time.

spacer

Wow that was an unexpectedly long post. I hope you enjoyed it (or not because it was kinda ranty). Anyways, I’d love to hear about your experiences with kdramas and your faves!

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

3 thoughts on “KDrama Lessons”

  1. I love Kill Me, Heal Me!!! It’s one of my favorite dramas. I haven’t watched Girl Who Sees Smells yet but I’m going to watch it soon. Lately I’ve been busy with books that I missed so many new dramas. so, I really need to catch up on all the recently released dramas. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m actually in love with Kill Me Heal Me… I mean who wouldn’t with all the Yo Na in it XD The story is great so far, I’m only up to ep 12. Will have to binge watch some more!

      I really hope you like Girl Who Sees Smells, I haven’t finished it but so far its perfect!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ha ha! Yo Na is really hilarious and I love Shin Se Gi. I hope you enjoy the remaining episodes but the ending was a bit sad though. I’ve watched the first episode of Girl who Sees smells and I really liked it. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

