Review: Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep

Cold Burn of Magic (Black Blade #1)

Goodreads | Author 
Publication Date: 28th April 2015
Rating: 5/5 bamboo sticks
There Be Monsters Here. . .

It’s not as great as you’d think, living in a tourist town that’s known as “the most magical place in America.” Same boring high school, just twice as many monsters under the bridges and rival Families killing each other for power.

I try to keep out of it. I’ve got my mom’s bloodiron sword and my slightly illegal home in the basement of the municipal library. And a couple of Talents I try to keep quiet, including very light fingers and a way with a lock pick.

But then some nasty characters bring their Family feud into my friend’s pawn shop, and I have to make a call–get involved, or watch a cute guy die because I didn’t. I guess I made the wrong choice, because now I’m stuck putting everything on the line for Devon Sinclair. My mom was murdered because of the Families, and it looks like I’m going to end up just like her. . .

spacer

The main – I was totally expecting Lila to be exactly like Gwen but she definitely was not. For one thing, she’s a way better fighter than Gwen and had that whole Throne of Glass Celaena vibe going on. You definitely shouldn’t mess with her. Her talents are super awesome (even if her soulsight was suspiciously similar to Gwen’s psychometry…) and she totally kicks evil ass with them. Her memories of her mum too are really poignant and are a vital part to the story.

The support – Devon is just a breath of fresh air for me. Too many YA love interests are brooding, dark, bad boys but Devon is the total opposite. He just has that innocence and goodness about him. I love how this author does her romances because the story isn’t based around it like so many books are. It’s kinda just there as the sweet cherry on top. All the other characters were just as amazing from the chatty Felix to the snarky Oscar (the pixie who isn’t as sweet as you think).

The world – Finally a world where normal people know about magic. It’s pretty funny actually how tourist the normal people are! Let’s not forget the all powerful families who are basically the rulers of Cloudburst Falls. I can’t wait to see how they develop throughout the series.

The story- I really love the Touch of Frost story lines because they had a lot of mystery and sleuthing which, I have recently found out, really appeal to me. It’s not different in Cold Burn of Magic where Devon has this guy who keeps wanting to kill him. I mean we all do don’t we 😀

TL;DR – Read it because Lila is freaking awesome.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

7 thoughts on “Review: Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep”

  1. Great review! It’s so good to see a love interest who’s not the bad boy. If you want more books that way, you should check out Geek Girl by Cindy Bennett. It’s a fun read. 🙂

    Like

    1. I just checked it out and it sounds adorable. I’ve heard books that are bad boy tries to turn good girl bad but never a bad girl turning a good boy bad. Definitely adding it to my to reads! Thank you for the rec 😀

      Like

Let's talk about it

