GIRL POWER: Torn Sky by Tracy Banghart

Torn Sky (Rebel Wing #3)

Goodreads | Author 
Publication Date: 4th August 2015
Rating: 5/5 bamboo sticks
Genres: Sci-fi
Big thanks for Alloy Entertainment for providing me a copy though Netgalley!
The end is near . . .

When Aris Haan brought down Safara’s biggest war criminal, she’d thought it was a turning point in the war. Victory was on the horizon, as was a peaceful future with her Promised, Milek.

But a deadly new threat has emerged: a Safaran bomb that could wipe out all of Atalanta in one catastrophic blast. Aris is tasked with finding the weapon before it is completed, a mission made more difficult when she starts to suspect that there is a Safaran spy in her unit. Friendships are tested, loyalties are strained, and suddenly Aris no longer knows whom she can trust.

In the epic conclusion to the Rebel Wing series, Atalanta’s fate rests on Aris’s shoulders. Can she find the bomb before it destroys everything—and everyone—she loves?

Basically my feels right now. This series is amazing, I remember reading the first book last year and just loving it. I wasn’t so sure if I would like it but requested it because it was sold as a Mulan retelling. A year on and I love it even more. It’s just so good honestly everyone should read it. I don’t have any bad points about it so I’m forgoing my review format and just fangirling.

I’m really big on romance but Torn Sky really had it all. I absolutely adore Dysis and Calix because she’s just so tough and it makes their relationship so cute. I literally bookmarked their chapters with “cute”. Of course, there is also Aris and Milek who are just great. But really, this book isn’t about the romance, it’s about girl power.

This book is basically what I want a Disney movie to be. The girls in this book don’t need a man to save them, they do it themselves because they are total badasses. They not only dominate the military but also the more democratic side. I remember being really bored in the last 2 books when it got to Galena’s POV because I just wanted to get back into the action. But what I realise now is that she is a very strong character, just not in a conventional YA dystopian way. We imagine out heroes to be in the battlefield but it’s not always like that and this book really points it out.

I love how the secondary characters get a bigger role in this book. There’s Dysis who is recovering from the last book and Tia who has a lot of secrets. These girls provide a really different perspective from Aris and Galena and it really just made the book feel that more relatable.

I feel like I could just keep talking about the girls in this book because they were the stars which is a weird thing for me because I usually go for the guys more even though there’s a female MC. So seriously guys, that should tell you that you should read this 😀

Torn Sky really ended the series on a really strong note and I’m excited to see what else Tracy Banghart writes.

love prima

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

4 thoughts on “GIRL POWER: Torn Sky by Tracy Banghart”

Let's talk about it

