Putting Books Into the DNF Zone

just book things

Just Books Things is where I’ll rant about books related things. This week I’m talking about the shelf between to-reads and read: the DNFs.

Iย find that there’s two ways that book becomes a DNF for me.

1. It’s just bad… real bad

I’m reading a book and I hit a section where I’m like “Well, that’s just dumb” or “Wow, she/he’s dumb”. But usually I’ll keep going if this is the first offence. If it’s a repeat, I start thinking about my time and if the book is worthy enough of taking up more of my time. If the answer’s no, you all know which shelf that book’s going. If the answer’s no and I keep going:

I don’t find many books so bland and boring that I completely give up on it. I read books that I absolutely hate because I want to see how bad it can get. So this leads us to my second reason for a DNF:

2. I put down the book and never pick it up again

See these ones are the ones I am so into at the start but then I put it down and start doing other things and then I completely forget about them or just have no interest/motivation to pick it up again. This is the most common DNFs for me.

I don’t normally label books a DNF because usually I just can’t be bothered to so it stays on my Goodreads currently reading for like 3 months, so now you know ๐Ÿ˜€

So, how do you guys feel about DNFs? What are your reasons?ย 

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Putting Books Into the DNF Zone”

  1. For me it’s mostly the second one, that I simply lose interest or doesn’t feel like reading that particular book. When that happens and I read a few chapters before stopping, I very rarely get back to it, because then I’d have to reread the start again.
    It’s not very often I stop reading because it’s too bad, I usually power through

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get really annoyed with myself when I lose interest in a book. I feel like I’m betraying it! And like you, I’m so lazy to reread the start again to get through it :3

      Like

Let's talk about it

