Spelled by Betsy Schow

SpelledThanks to Sourcebook Fire for providing me a copy through Netgalley!

Dear Spelled,

I had my doubts about you. I mean, you were outrageously over the top, filled with groan worthy puns and to top it off, at your helm was a snooty princess.

But you know what? I totally loved these things about you.

You were just so colourful and fun and I had a really good time reading you. You sorta gave off that Percy Jackson vibe only less epic and tons more crazy. Hans Christian Louboutin slippers? Chapter header parodies of fairytales? What more could I have asked for?

Fairytale retellings today are always the dark, brooding kind of stories but sometimes I feel like they just suck out the joy from out of childhood stories. But you were the total opposite. You were action packed but never forgot to have a bit of a party too. Sometimes I feel like you partied too much, though, and I just had to take a break from you. But you were such a unique adventure that I couldn’t help but come back to you.

I’d just like to say I appreciated how sassy your main trio is. Separately they’re just kinda weird, kinda lame characters but together… they made something special. You weren’t based around a romance which is kind rare in books today and it’s kinda awesome. I mean, you had the romance but also the friendship and the parents.

Really you were just a great time. Would I re-read you? A hundred times yes. Now it’s time to tap my heels and go back home.

the wizard of oz animated GIF

Love,
Prima

MVP shoutout: to Hydra, who was just the star of this book and juggled many heads (literally).

4

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

5 thoughts on “Spelled by Betsy Schow”

Let's talk about it

