Buying Books

just book things

I heard that a hardcover in America is like $4 and my reaction was literally:

Someone please tell me this isn’t true or otherwise I am completely jealous and I’ll tell you why.

I live in Australia, you know the country down under, the one that’s pretty much separate from everything. We’re actually a giant island. Now buying books here is kinda hard. Iย literally have one main bookstore chain and really only one option for free online shipping (you the best Book Depository). The only problem is Book Depository is based in the UK which means its takes ages for the books to come.

See the issue is that we are pretty much separate from everything. I don’t buy hardcovers generally because a) they’re expensive and b) you can’t find many at your local bookstore. You could order it online but you have to wait 14 days. That’s right, 2 weeks. 2 painful weeks of checking the current shipping status of your order. Imagine that.

This is why most of my books come from discount department stores such as Big W and Target but the problem with that is they don’t have a big variety. I normally find the same books over and over again for a month. But then again, I am a cheap skate so I don’t really mind unless I need the book right now.

My question to you guys is how do you buy books. And to those Aussie readers out there, where do you buy them from. To you Americans, are hardcovers really just $4?? PLEASE ANSWER!

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Buying Books”

  1. I get my books online, stores, used bookstores, and thrift shops. And I can guarantee that hardbacks in use DO NOT cost $4. Not even at used bookstores. YA hardbacks cost about $20+, Fiction at about $25-$30, and non fiction at about $30-$45. Used bookstores still sell hardbacks only at a little over half price. No way can you find a hardback in new condition (with a dust jacket and everything) for anything less than $8-$10. And BD ships to US in 2-3 weeks here too, it’s like that for most countries outside Europe I assume.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I had no idea the shipping time was so long for America. I thought it would be quicker because its closer to the UK. As for the hardback thing, my jealous heart can rest! Thank you for your enlightenment ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Let's talk about it

