WTF: The Jewel by Amy Ewing

So I’ve just spent the night reading The Jewel, book 3 of The Selection series… Oh wait, it’s not part of The Selection series?? It’s not that book?

The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)

 The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty—because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her existence… and try to stay alive. But then a forbidden romance erupts between Violet and a handsome gentleman hired as a companion to the Duchess’s petulant niece. Though his presence makes life in the Jewel a bit brighter, the consequences of their illicit relationship will cost them both more than they bargained for.

spacer

Rating2

So if you’re wondering why I’m confused at what I’m reading:

The One (The Selection, #3)

Yup. Not to mention The Surrogacy is technically just a low class Selection.

My feels on this book can’t be described. Technically I can sum up all the characters in one sentence:

Violet: She’s the main character who just happens to be super hot, smart, talented but still so bland that no one reading the book gives a shit about her.

Ash: The hot guy who shows up like 3 times in Violet’s life and then becomes her true love because he’s literally every YA love interest in one person.

Duchess: The unnecessary evil person in the book who’s really just there so something actually happens in the book.

All the other people who’s named after gemstones/ colours: Stuff you all.

I have no doubt in saying that my favourite character is Garnet and that’s just sad because he’s drunk 24/7.

I really did enjoy reading the plot. Well, not exactly enjoyed more like became very emotionally involved. You could say it might’ve been because I read it all in one go or maybe because night time reading just makes emotions run high, but I think this book’s plot was just very emotional. Violet is basically a slave who’s job is to bear the family’s child. But wait… I think I’ve heard of this plot…

Wither (The Chemical Garden, #1)

Do I even have to say anything?

Oh but, Prima, what about the Auguries? They were cool right?

I don’t give a shit about the Auguries. They were dumb and just so unnecessary. Actually they were probably thrown in just so it wasn’t actually The Selection/Wither.

I think what really just pissed me off was that Violet decides to freaking stay with her insta-boyfriend/love of life instead of escaping surrogacy. WTF??? YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW THIS GUY!! WHY CAN’T THE ROYALS HAVE BABIES ANYWAY? WHY IS EVERYONE NAMED AFTER FREAKING GEMSTONES? Ugh, I rest my case.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

