In The Ring: Second Chance Summer Vs Perfect Couple

So before I head deep into my Bones obsession again, I thought I should post up some reviews. I recently read Second Chance Summer and Perfect Couple and was going to write separate reviews. But then I thought, “What if they fought to the death for the title of the best contemporary book?” And so, I present to you:

in the ring big
Perfect Couple (Superlatives, #2)Perfect Couple by Jennifer Echols

Goodreads | Author

Can your heart be put to a popular vote?

As yearbook photographer, Harper is responsible for capturing those candid moments that make high school memorable. But her own life is anything but picture perfect. Her parents’ bitter divorce has left her wondering what a loving relationship would look like. And ever since the senior class voted her and star quarterback Brody the “Perfect Couple That Never Was,” her friends have been on her case to ask Brody out.

The trouble is, though they’re very attracted to each other and both of them admit this, they have a hard time getting along or even communicating clearly. If they’re the perfect couple, this shouldn’t be so difficult! Soon it becomes clear their class was wrong, and they throw in the towel. But after they walk away, both of them feel so changed from making the effort that they can’t forget each other. What if that means this match made in hell is the perfect couple after all?

Ok, this is going to be so hard to say.

I didn’t like it.

Oh god.

I was so sure I was going to love it. I mean, I read Biggest Flirts because I wanted to read Perfect Couple. The blurb got me so hyped up. And them I actually read it and my hopes just plummeted to the ground. The book is just so annoying. The main character, Harper, cheats on her boyfriend to be with Brody. I mean, the boyfriend is a jerk but come on. Also, her character was just so bland. Besides her hobbies of retro fashion and photography, she doesn’t even stand out as a character to me.

I did like the interactions between Harper and Brody, though. They were really cute, there’s no other way to put it. However, I did feel like they moved way too fast. They barely know each other and then suddenly they’re just regularly making out. Just no. I think the title thing that’s at the core of the series just didn’t work for this book.

I will have to say that I’m excited for the next book after the excerpt at the end of Perfect Couple. I think I’ll really enjoy Sawyer and Kaye’s story.

3

Second Chance SummerSecond Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Goodreads | Author 

Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.

So many tears, just so many. Should’ve known this would happen because it is a Morgan Matson book. The book is beautifully written with relatable characters and a lot of feeling. It really made me sit back and think about the messages in the book about family, friendship and love.

I think the main reason why the book was so easy to get into is because of the main character. Taylor Edwards is the middle child in her family. She’s not super smart like her brother Warren or talented at dance like her sister Gelsey and that’s what makes her so relatable. All of us feel overwhelmed by the amazing, talented people in our lives sometimes. Taylor was the perfect voice for this story.

The Edwards family really grew together through this book and it was really heartwarming to read about it. It really made me reflect on my time with my family and how much they mean to me. The Edwards are placed in a time constraint and are literaly forced to spend time with each other. It was really sweet to see how they all bonded and helped each other.

Really, Second Chance Summer gave a slice of life that wasn’t perfect, but had a strong impression.

5

Winner:

So obviously, this round goes to Second Chance Summer because I just did not like Perfect Couple. Honestly, I just think I could relate more to Second Chance and it was just really well written.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “In The Ring: Second Chance Summer Vs Perfect Couple”

Let's talk about it

