When a Series You Don’t Like Keeps Pushing Out Books

We probably all have that series. The one that when a new book is released you’re like

No, there’s definitely not a series I’m basing this on cough-The Selection-coughcoughsneeze. But let’s just say that there’s this series I don’t really like but I guess it popular so all these books keep coming out for it. I mean, I was just scrolling casually on Goodreads when I see a familiar cover. Oh look, it’s another book from the series of that book I read. Maybe the blurb will really be good and I will love it. Ok, clickety click, open up the read more andddd… yeah, no. Still don’t like it.

I don’t know why I always open it up. My old feels just get reignited by reading the blurb.  Like I think if I could just ignore everything I hated in the first book that I could love the second book. If I do like a blurb, though, I go through The Stages of Denial:

1. Anger/ Hate/ Disgust

2. Denying your love when you start thinking more about the book

3. Accepting that you’ll most likely read it because it sounds freaking awesome

For example, most of you guys know that Cassandra Clare is releasing a new shadowhunter series starting with Lady Midnight. Well you might remember my feels on it (shameless self promoting) which technically sums up all my feels now… buuut this time I will actually read it. I can’t resist reading more about the forbidden parabatai love, I’m so sorry. You know I can’t resist a romance.

So, what about you? Do you have a series you love to hate (or just hate)?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

10 thoughts on “When a Series You Don’t Like Keeps Pushing Out Books”

      1. yeah i liked the first one but it got boring and all she talked about was ky, then the third one came out, it took me forever to read it since i didn’t want to read it. i read it because i can’t just leave a series hanging! i have to finish the series

        Like

  1. I wanted to read The Selection series but then I found out the author called a reviewer a bitch for giving a bad review. =/ Also, I’m getting pretty sick of the whole Shadowhunters thing myself.

    The Black Dagger Brotherhood. Those books are TERRIBLE and more and more keep coming out. BLECH.

    Like

  2. I actually dont have a series which I have an intense hate relationship with 😛 But there are series which I didnt enjoy as much and when I see a new book being released, I kindof feel like making snarky comments 😉

    Like

  3. I used to read house of night but got sick of it at like the fifth book. Now, every time I see the release of yet another one, I just sigh (I think there are at least 11 of them). I never read the new ones, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember reading the first House of Night book and thinking it was alright. Then I found out that it had 12 books and a billion novellas… never picked it up again.

      Like

Let's talk about it

