We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were LiarsA beautiful and distinguished family. A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends – the Liars – whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense that will leave you reeling.
If anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

spacer

Rating:

5

Songs: Things We Lost In The Fire – Bastille, Au Revoir – One Republic


What what
What was that?
Oh god, I can’t deal with this ending.

Ok, I’ve sort of recovered from the shock. This book is just so haunting. It sticks in your mind and just stays there. It’s not just the plot that sticks to your head, it’s the messages, it’s the characters, it’s Cadence’s voice. The whole book is just amazing.

While it may only be 225 pages long, Liars holds so much more weight than that. I was actually quite bored in the beginning but it soon picked up after the family politics started kicking in. We Were Liars might have a rich family as the basis for its plot but somehow anyone can relate to the family drama. I really felt for Cadence and the Liars because the Sinclairs are one messed up family. They’re ruled by their wealth, especially the mothers, which is very reflective of society today with its materialistic drive.

It’s been formatted differently with the chapters sometimes flowing into each other. This is what makes the story so interesting. The POV switches back and forth from the past to the present and it’s hard to distinguish one from the other. It’s why the whole book works. It put me off at the start but as you get further into the book, it makes sense why its been formatted in the flowing way that it has been.

We Were Liars is definitely not your typical YA stuff. It has a lot of depth and thought put into the world, plot and characters and I really appreciate that. All I have to say is, go read it and listen to the Liars’ story.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart”

  1. Hmm, I’ve been seeing so many mixed things for We Were Liars. It seems like a book you’ll either love or hate, so I’m not sure if I want to risk that and read it! (<– total coward right here, yup. xD) But regardless of mixed reviews, I love how much this book was able to make you feel. For a person who suffers from severe book amnesia (honestly, I can forget the plot of a book just a week after reading it), it's books that make me remember and feel that are the best ones.

    I think what's really intriguing is how the whole past-present chapter thing worked so well for you, though. I have to admit that I'm always a little iffy of flashback chapters in books because they're so easy to screw up, but I've never come across a book where the line between past and present was so blurred, yet worked so well. I'm curious!

    Anyway, glad that this managed to blow your mind. Still deciding on whether I should read it, but who knows — my curiosity might get the better of me and I might end up buying it. 😉 Fab review, Prima!

    Like

    1. I totally agree! Buying books is such a risk. You don’t know whether you’ll love them or hate them. And people say I’m not a risk taker. Buying books is a sign of living on the edge XD

      I normally don’t remember much of a book’s plot but We Were Liars just stuck in my head for ages. That’s how I knew I loved it.

      For the past-present thing, it was really weird at first but it just works with the book. Definitely worth checking it out!

      Like

Let's talk about it

