Let’s Talk About: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)Ok, so most of you probably already know this book. I mean, it’s the book. The YA book full of meaning and emotion and decisions. The book that can teach teens everywhere about life. I wasn’t feeling any of this.

Let me just start with saying, I am a very, very emotional person. I cried in the Lego Movie, you can’t top that. Let me keep going to say I didn’t cry at all in this oh so emotional book. Why? The plot.

The plot apparently great but I seriously didn’t get what was so great about it. It was so boring. So Mia dies and stays as a sort of ghost. Ok, yeah, that’s interesting. Then we get a split between flashbacks and the present where Mia’s body is being visited by family and
friends. I didn’t care about either of those things because one, I don’t care for the characters, and two, the writing. It’s meant to be poignant and deep but it didn’t really work out like that. It was more like a news report where you get the facts and the details on it.

I have to talk about Mia as well. The author really tries to make her seem special because oh look at the cell playing girl in the rocker family. It would’ve worked if I cared. To explain why I didn’t is simple: “Oh look at the girl who has to decide between going with her family to the afterlife or choosing her boyfriend”. Yep, I just gave you a slight spoiler but I think we all saw it coming. Her freaking grandpa gives her permission to go but she’s like “Nah, I think I’ll stay with Adam”. Don’t get me started on him. He’s a “bad boy” rocker type which doesn’t really help him and I just couldn’t give a damn about him.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

And this where I was like

Also, where this meaningful life decision making thing in the plot that makes re-evaluate life? There was no emotion in this plot so how can it change my life or whatever? Ugh, ok, I’ll stop the rant.

TL;DR Just read The Fault In Our Stars. It’s so much better than this crap. 

Rating: (I don’t have a one bamboo picture so I’m settling for 2 instead. I’m way too lazy to make a picture just for this book)

2

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

