The YA Movie of the Month

Yep, you know what I’m talking about. The Maze Runner. The freaking Maze Runner.

Is it just me or is every single YA book out there being turned into a movie? I mean last month it was The Giver and If I Stay. The month before TFIOS and back in March, it was Divergent. Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing movie adaptations but I feel like the sheer amount of them try to compensate for the quality. Out of the three only TFIOS got a fresh rating on Rotten Tomatoes. The other two got below 40%. Why do I trust Rotten Tomatoes, you might say. Well it’s because they’re PRETTY MUCH RIGHT like all the time. To just emphasise my point here, these two movies got a rating below Step Up 5. Freaking Step Up 5. You’d think that something new and original would get better than reused material but nope. Still worse

.

I think I’m just really sick of what I like to call the typical YA storyline. Person is different in some way, they find new powers/ attitudes and boom they save the world. I also don’t think I’m the only one. TFIOS doesn’t follow that storyline and look where it is now.

Ok, back to The Maze Runner. I haven’t seen it but I have a feeling I know what’s gonna happen. I’m gonna really like the actors, maybe the special effects but I’ll walk out and feel like “They could’ve done it better”. Some books just don’t translate well. I mean, you can’t get the full spectrum of a book into a movie. The thoughts of the characters, the wittiness of the language, the humour, the feels.

TL;DR This is me begging for a YA rom com/ chick flick. Please make one. For now, I’ll just rewatch Mean Girls. Just stop making me watch Hunger Games wannabes. 

Anyways, for a small reading update, I’m almost finished If I Stay and I’m kinda on the fence about it right now but we’ll see. I’m also making a list of contemporaries to read because it’s Spring! Time to get some happy books 😀

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

3 thoughts on “The YA Movie of the Month”

  1. I feel you, books are always better than movies!! But, it must be mentioned that Warm Bodies (written by Isaac Marion) is an exception. I enjoyed the movie much more than the book, even if they didn’t follow the storyline. And hey…. a big thumbs up to Nicholas Hoult rocking the black hair!!!

    Like

    1. Books really get us into the mind of the character and it’s just so much better than just watching them like a movie.

      Haven’t seen Warm Bodies but I’ve heard it’s really good. Will have to add it to my to watch list! 😀

      Like

Let's talk about it

