The Rules For Disappearing by Ashley Elston

The Rules for Disappearing (The Rules for Disappearing, #1)Series? The Rules of Disappearing #1
Published? 14th May 2013
And by who? Disney-Hyperion

This book was just… wow. In between the romance and the thriller storyline, it just caught me. I loved the whole concept of the witness protection thing. It’s not one I’ve read about before so it was really interesting. All the stuff about the mystery behind their placement and the paranoia, I really enjoy reading books like that. I mean, who doesn’t love a bit of mystery every now and then?

Mystery books tend to do this thing where they build up right until the end where it’s solved. Usually I don’t find that bad, but this book didn’t really execute it well. It starts off really strong but then it kinda goes slow because there isn’t much plot to be told. The author just seems to focus too much on Meg adapting to the new placement and finding a romance than actually solving any of the mystery.

I was really fascinated by the storyline but I thought over it and I felt like it was bit weird. The events in the book seem really mish-mashed. At the start it’s a mystery, then suddenly it’s a romance and then back to mystery then ends as a sort of romance mystery. Ugh, no. I liked it as a mystery and I liked the romance but I feel together it doesn’t click.

The characters in the book were just the best. Take our main character for example. Meg had all these little quirks that developed after she has been on run. It really showed the effects that the program did to her and I found it really believable. And then there’s Ethan. He’s like the best person ever. And the scenes with him and Meg’s little sister Mary at the pizza shop were the cutest thing ever. More please 😀

Rating:

4

So I hoped you enjoyed this review! If you’ve read it, comment down your thoughts below. If you haven’t, comment down your thoughts below 😉

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “The Rules For Disappearing by Ashley Elston”

  1. So glad that you enjoyed this, Prima! I remember reading it last year as an ARC, and I think I liked it quite a bit too, though some things bothered me. I agree, the story tended to focus more on Meg and the drama surrounding her in high school rather than on the actual mystery itself. That kind of bugged me because I’m really cynical when it comes to romance. I don’t like it slathered on too thick, especially in books where romance isn’t supposed to be the main focus. That problem aside, though, the romance was actually kind of sweet. Ethan. ❤

    The characters were great! I can't remember much (darn you, book amnesia), but I do know I liked reading from Meg's perspective, and yup, ETHAN. I just want more of him, lol. Are you planning to read the sequel anytime soon? I haven't yet, but the avg. rating on Goodreads is higher, so that probably means it'll be even better! Whoop! 😀

    Anyway, lovely review, Prima!

    Like

    1. I really wanted to know more about the mystery. I mean I could’ve gotten high school drama out of any other book. I loved Ethan though so I guess I’ll have to deal with it! Hopefully the next book has more mystery stuff 😀

      Talking about the sequel, I’m definitely adding it to me to read in the near future list. I really want to read more about Meg’s life after and the bad guy who’s still out there. And of course more Ethan wouldn’t hurt 😉

      PS I know, book amnesia is horrible. I can’t even remember books I read a few weeks back XD

      Like

Let's talk about it

