Delirium: The TV Show

Ok, first I have to say how long it’s been since I posted anything. Haven’t gotten into any books recently and I’m just really lazy. I’m really excited for a bunch of books coming out later in the year though so it should get better.

Anyways, onto the real topic. Today I found what seems to be a giant chunk of the Delirium TV Show pilot. Now, I knew that it was being turned into a TV show and then it got rejected. I was really devastated at the time because it would’ve made a great plot for a show. I would be totally addicted to it. Well, at least that’s what I thought. Yes, this post it technically a rage. 

I was really excited when I saw the thumbnail for it. Then I actually watched it. And oh my god, it was crap. Probably the biggest problem I had with it, is it was NOTHING like the book. If you dare call it an adaptation, then at least try to make it similar to the book. It was so different in tone, character looks and I think even plot. It’s not even a new thing though. So many movies and shows have not stuck true to the book source and I think that’s what frustrated me even more about this show. I had such high hopes for it and they just come crashing down.

The acting was really bad. Like, no offence, but everyone just couldn’t act. It’s hard, I guess, to act a person who doesn’t have feelings technically. It’s a delicate concept and it’s hard to execute, that I understand. But for the actors with uncured characters, I really just expect more. Everyone just seems so produced. Like it’s so obvious that they’re acting.

Then there’s the tone of the show. I don’t even know what kinda tone they’re going for. Is it meant to be chick flicky? Dark and serious (like it’s meant to be)? The ep just seems like a mish mash of different things into one. I get this feeling a lot in teen orientated dramas, that they’re just smashing everything they can into it.

Also, what’s up with that plot? I got this feeling a bit into the ep that the plot just wasn’t there. Like the whole unfeeling thing just wasn’t explained that well. We get this whole intro on the Cure and that’s it. If I haven’t read the book, I wouldn’t get why there’s flashbacks on Lena’s mum telling her “I love you”. Everything was just so unclear. I just ended up being like:

image

Really, thank god this pilot didn’t air. I don’t need another crappy teen drama full for pretty, pretty people with no good acting or plot. If you want to check it out yourself, I’ve linked it over here. It’s only up for a month though, so be quick?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Delirium: The TV Show”

  1. Reblogged this on high on oxygen and commented:
    if you’re in the US, the video is not available to you, but you can watch the trailer for delirium. tbh it was not what i expected, it’s not as good as i expected it to be.

    Like

Let's talk about it

