Review: Gold by Talia Vance

Gold (Bandia, #2)Bandia #2, Published September 2013

Gold was a really weird book for me. Loved some bits, hated others. Seriously, I need to find another good book soon.

Thoughts During Reading:

I’m almost to the end of Gold and I just feel like I need to say this. NOTHING IS HAPPENING!!! The whole book is just all talk. Talking about relationships, talking about fighting instead of actually fighting. They keep saying that this big fight is gonna happen but where the heck is it? I just kept reading hoping something would pop up.

Update: finished. It feels like I’ve gone nowhere with the book. Books are meant to be an adventure, getting you from point A to point B. Gold on the other hand was more like going from point A to point B and then going back to point A. I literally finished the book going “no, no,no”.

The Review:

I really like the first book in this series. Silver was great. It had all the paranormal stuff with romance over it… where did it go in this one? Warning: sort of long rant ahead.

So why was the book going nowhere, you ask? Well, that’s an easy question. Gold felt like it was trying to tell us a simple story in a complicated way. There were some notable plot points but to be honest, there weren’t any that were memorable. All the things that happened in the book just didn’t build up to anything. It’s meant to gather tension for the fight at the end but it was just waaaay too long.

Ok, onto the good things. Loved the use of gaelic myths in the book. I really enjoy the modern twists on myths and classics. Irish tales aren’t ones I’m familiar with so it was a great experience to read about it.

The blurb also has a lot on travelling back in time. The time travel I was so looking forward to wasn’t really in the book. When a blurb says something and the book doesn’t deliver, it makes me feel like it has lied to me or something. It says stuff about Brianna falling for a younger Austin… it’s in the book but the blurb makes it seem super important. It’s not.

Austin’s back in this book and he’s surprisingly a pretty awesome guy. His relationship with Brianna was really sweet and it was probably the highlight of the book. He was the perfect romantic interest and was just really the coolest. However, this point leads me to another negative thought.

In the last book, Brianna is dating Blake and we leave we them pretty happy for the future. When I started this, I was totally confused. Why the heck is Brianna in Ireland? What happened for her to go there? WHAT HAPPENED WITH BLAKE??? When I found out that Brianna broke up with Blake, I was pretty devastated. We’ve spent a whole book rooting for them and then the sequel just kills that. No. That’s not cool.

It kinda makes me regret staying up to finish it. There were some good things but there was an overflow of justin the book that I just couldn’t stand.

Rating: 2/5 bamboo sticks

2

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

