Trending: I Don’t Need a Man

So first let me apologise about my posting silence for the past week. I’ve just finished my half yearlies and to celebrate a group of my friends and I went to watch Maleficent.

Firstly, can I just applaud Angelina Jolie on her wonderful performance. She just held the movie up with her amazing portrayal of Maleficent. She was delightfully evil but still managed to get us to sympathise with her.

Now onto the real reason of this post. WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

All people who want to not be spoiled are gone?

How about now?

Last call for all non-spoiler wanters.

Ok, as you might have guessed from the title of this post, yes Aurora is not saved by the prince but by Maleficent. Obviously, this follows Disney’s blockbuster success of Frozen and the theme of I don’t need a man/prince to save me. Not that I would want that Justing Bieber impostor to save me… his hair just put me off so much. Anyways, I think we all see what Disney is trying to do. Create strong, independent characters to make girls strong and independent. Now there’s nothing wrong with that, it might actually be even good for society but for movies… that’s a different story.

I knew the spoilers from the beginning but my friend who was sitting next to me didn’t. When the movie got to the epic true love kiss scene she started to whisper to me “I don’t think it’ll work… pretty sure Maleficent will save her cuz true love”. I wasw surprised that she had guessed the ending because it’s not the normal Disney ending but looking back on it, I guess I shouldn’t have been. There’s just been a row of strong female types of movies from Brave, Frozen and now Maleficent. The thing is, if I read a book like this, I probably would hate it. I’m strong on the romance in books and if there’s none I’m probably not gonna read it. That’s the thing about many YA novels now. They’re very romance centric. Does this really send the message ofย girls needing guys to be strong? I don’t think this is the message they’re trying to send but is it what they’re unknowingly sending?

Disney is trying to amend this problem and its older movie’s mistake of helpless damsels in distress and whipping up strong female characters. But is this really the way to go? If they keep going like this, every movie is going to be as predictable as the happily ever after.

What are your thoughts on the new track Disney is going? Do you think YA books can do the same without losing fans?

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

1 thought on “Trending: I Don’t Need a Man”

  1. I loved Maleficent and KNEW she was going to be the true love instead of the One Direction looking prince. I know quite a few people that hated it because it strayed too much from Sleeping Beauty. But whatever, it was amazing.

    Personally I don’t care if there is romance in my books. It’s nice but I don’t need it. I’ve been loving this trend Disney has been on lately and I hope it continues!

    Like

Let's talk about it

