Why I Don’t Do Dream Casts

off the tracks

Book to movie adaptations are the big thing right now and a lot of people do this thing called dream casting. It’s technically just listing the actors you want as the characters from the book. Every time I see one of these, I usually just scroll by it and just not read it. Why? Ok, well let me go into more detail about book movies.

To be honest, there are few YA series that translate onto the screen well. I mean, in the past year all but The Hunger Games were pretty crap. I go into these movies expecting the worst and usually I get it so book movies are kinda a no. Sometimes the casts for these can be really great or they can be really bad like City of Bones. I think this has really put me off casting actors for books.

People say that books are movies in your head. Well, the movie in my head is gonna be totally different from yours. Dream casts sort of make me imagine that actor when I’m reading the book and I’m really not ok with that. I just want to imagine the characters the way I feel like they should be imagined.

There are some times when I look at dream casts and I’m like “OMG that person would be great as this character!” but most of the time… yeah. I have to say though, Cinder dream casts are cool for me right now because it’s got a lot of Teen Wolf people and Teen Wolf is cool to me right now. This brings me to my last point on dream casts. They really just depend on how you feel about the actors at the time. You could just be really biased towards the actor because of what you’re watching them in right now or because they’re hot. Come on, let’s be honest.

So there’s my view on dream casting. Tell me what you think about it, if you hate it, if you love it leave it all in the comments.

Author: Prima

Still crazy obsessed with High School Musical and is still disappointed real life high school did not involved as much singing and dancing. Almost 18 but relates to 5 year olds. Super cynical about Disney movies and kdramas but still loves them. Blogs about books and feels.

6 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Do Dream Casts”

  1. I completely agree with you. Tumblr posts or goodreads reviews for example are full of fancasting, and most of the time I don’t see it at all.
    I often feel the same way about book covers too, when there are actual people on the cover. Mostly they don’t look at all like the characters in my own head.

    Like

    1. It’s really rare that an actor matches the character exactly how I pictured it. I didn’t think about book covers though… there are a lot of models on them. I usually just ignore the models on the covers though.

      Like

  2. Great points! I occasionally like imagining what some characters look like or seeing who authors would pick for their dream cast (side note: Stephanie Meyer’s first choice for Bella would have been oodles better than KStew), but mostly because it helps me visualize people if I’m struggling to. If I’m “casting” a book (which I occasionally do for a feature on my blog) I like to focus on other aspects of the book. Maybe the setting or a building… not really just people. I know that’s really the same thing though… 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m pretty sure I didn’t like the Twilight series because of the actors… I searched up Meyer’s first choices for Bella and I totally agree that they would have definitely been better. I think if the author made a dream cast I would glance at them to see how they imagined them to be. They’re always pretty interesting and different 😀

      Like

  3. I’ve never really thought about dream casts before. I think I’ve looked at ONE in my entire time on the blogosphere. For me, I just don’t need to read them. They are the actors that blogger would choose, not me. And whilst that might be fun for some people to read, I just don’t need them, haha.
    I like having my own images of people in my head, and I never really try to superimpose an actual human onto that image. I’d much prefer a make-believe person. It just makes more sense that way.
    I don’t think I’d ever do one, except if it was for my own book. That makes sense to me. If I ever saw an author dream cast of a book I;d read, I’d probably look at it because I love to know what the characters look like in their head!

    Like

    1. The author’s dream casts are always fascinating. I really enjoy their ones. I actually find it impossible to imagine actual people as book characters. Make believe people all the way 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

