Review: Shattered Veil by Tracy E. Banghart

Shattered Veil (The Diatous Wars #1)Shattered Veil
Tracy E. Banghart
The Diatous Wars #1
Published February 2014
Shout out to Netgalley and Tracy E. Banghart for sending me an eARC of this book.

Read This: Fans of Mulan. Really, this is the book version.
Would I buy a physical copy? I’m gonna have to. That cover is gorgeous and with the story, it’s even better.
Movie Adaptation? Please make this into a movie. It’s got the perfect feel and pacing for one. I actually saw the movie scenes playing out in my head while reading it.

Did I like this book? You bet I did. It’s full of action, adventure and self reflection… well the second half is. You’ll have to get through the first half. The first parts were more introductory and were a bit confusing but as soon as we got onto the second half, I was hooked. I heard this song right after I read the book and thought it perfectly reflected Aris’ journey. So I’m gonna quote some of the lyrics during this review.

Let’s start with our Mulan of the story. Aris Haan becomes Aristos to go after the boy she loves in the military. At the start, I admit, I didn’t really like her. She felt like one of those girls who depended on her boyfriend way too much and just accepted anything. At the end though, I realised it made sense for her to start out like that because then she had the potential to change and grow. 

“And all these wounds don’t fake” I think I started enjoying it when Drysis, Aris’ roommate, talks about her memories with her brother. I noted that scene down as “touching”. It was really the first time I felt any emotional connection to any of the characters and we get more depth to them. “Where all of the lives we lead could change” Aris becomes a much stronger person with thoughts that go beyond the guy she likes. I actually got a bit teary at the end. I think the main plot would be her growth rather then any of the action or the fighting which is interesting because usually action overpowers any character development. Banghart has somehow managed to create an unusual balance between the two.

Setting wise, it felt like Divergent mixed with Matched by Ally Condie. It’s got the different “factions” of Divergent with the selection of jobs of Matched. It mixed pretty well. I don’t usually like politics in these kind of books but Shattered Veil really used it well. We get to see from the leaders’ point of view and it just gives it that extra touch.

“Today I’m not myself, and you, you’re someone else” This little quote literally describes Aris and Calix’s relationship at the end. It’s interesting that Calix said they would change at the start which sort of forebodes their whole relationship really. We started out with an already made couple which is strange. I like seeing a couple grow throughout the book but in Shattered Veil, we don’t really get to see that. I was very wary of Aris and Calix because I didn’t know what to expect from their relationship. For our other guy, Milek, he’s awesome. However, I actually went back and checked that I didn’t miss any pages because I have no idea how this relationship came to be either. I guess you can say they did talk about their lives before. I really love them together but I’m just confused at how they developed this love.  I applaud the author for making me more interested in Aris than her romances though.

Would I read the sequel? Definite yes. I can’t wait to see Aris grow even more and her relationship with Milek bloom.

Rating: 4.5/5 bamboo sticks

4.5

 

*Edit* Shattered Veil has been republished under the title “Rebel Wing” so check it out!

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

5 thoughts on “Review: Shattered Veil by Tracy E. Banghart”

  1. Ooohhh maaaan. I went back and forth, and back and forth, over deciding whether to request this title when it popped up. I felt like I would like it, but there was something nagging at me..

    I’m going to be buying a copy now though, after your review. Great stuff!!

    Like

  2. YES One Republic cameo in this post 🙂 Haha!
    But in al honesty I hadn’t even heard of this book but part of me now wants to read it but another part of me doesn’t because of it’s resemblance to matched and Divergent and i don’t know if that’ll be a good thing or not. DECISIONS DECISIONS
    Lily @ Lilysbookblog

    Like

Let's talk about it

