Feeling Up Books

off the tracks

Ok I know that title sounds pedo-y, but its not really. Do you know why I love physical copies of books? I think my reason would be the same as yours: you can hold it and feel it. I recently saw this post over at Books for a Delicate Eternity and I thought this would be a good time to explain my book cover fetish. 

I’ve just went on a recent book hunt at Dymocks and I was checking out books as you do. Then I started picking them up to read the blurbs. I picked up After Eden, read the blurb then put it down. I picked up Half Bad by Sally Green, felt it, read it, felt it some more, then I reluctantly put it down. Why? Because Half Bad felt like freaking velvet. I’m actually not joking when I say this, but it felt amazing. I was standing shop going (insert book between hands):

It didn’t have that shiny slippery cover most books do. It had a some sort of coating of smoothness that just makes your fingers want to feel more. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell has the same kind of feel and that’s mainly why I have to buy both of them now. The covers for both aren’t anything that stunning but the feel of them make them better than they should be.

Now onto the letters and stuff on the books. I love when they have glazed things on it because it gives it much more texture. The best way I can explain it is if there was a scale of smoothness, velvet smooth would be on one side while glazed smooth is on the other. I think a good example of these is the Australian Heroes of Olympus covers. The letters are really nice and glazed and give a sort of grip. I’m also pretty sure The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead has this as well because I distinctly remember feeling that cover up too.

How about those boring covers.. how to make them more interesting… The answers pretty simple: embossed letters. These are the reason why I will never plastic contact my books. These little letters just make the cover pop up (see what I did there :D). They give your fingers something to brush over. I mean you bought the book to feel it up so the cover has to be worth it. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer is a perfect example. It’s completely flat and slippery until you feel up the title and its embossing. Then you’re like:

So I’d love to know what books you think feel the best and why? Do they have velvet smooth covers, or glazing or embossing? Maybe something else? Feel free to use these questions as an excuse to feel up your books 😉

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

16 thoughts on “Feeling Up Books”

  1. I’m so glad I inspired this post, haha 😀
    I know what you mean. Whilst my paper types are really important when reading and can om[rove or impede my enjoyment .. covers are just fun.
    I felt HALF BAD and it was so nice! I know exactly what you mean about the velvet texture. I love it when books have that. I think they’re calling it matte ….
    I really love the embossed lettering, too. It makes my fingers happy when they’re holding it.
    The only ones I don’t like are when the covers are so shiny that when my fingers move on them it makes that squeaky sound *shudders* I hate that sound!

    Like

  2. You’re fetish is so adorable and funny. I think I will be interested to touch a velvet book cover too but not likely to buy it. However, I have this attitude over book editions. I don’t like buying different edition when it comes with series book. I want them to have the same style and graphics. I also hate it when publishers suddenly changed their edition over the third books because that means my copy will not look the same anymore.

    I also like buying books in hardback. I hate to see books in my shelf with mix paperback and hardback especially if it’s a series. If one book in that series is in hardbound, then everything must be in hardbound too.

    Like

Let's talk about it

