The Books That Made Me Love Reading

top ten tuesdays

As always hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week it’s the “gateway” books: the ones that got you into reading, brought you back into reading, maybe even one that brought you into a different genre. So my first one would be:

1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

This was the series that made me love Greek myths and action scenes in books. I would say it was my introduction to paranormal although it’s not really paranormal (is it fantasy?).

2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

It’s not only amazing but it’s one that brought me back after a reading block.

3. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

There’s a lot of things I could say about this book and most are pretty negative. However, I can say that this book introduced me to paranormal which I will be eternally grateful for.

4. Meg Cabot books

These were lighthearted, funny and just were so full of happy. Here’s where my love for romance and humour came in I guess. Meg Cabot just has a talent for writing funny but interesting plot. Probably her Mediator series got me into paranormal too.

5. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

For mixing those two things said before into one awesome series that still remains on the top of my lists after all these years.

6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Introduced me to dystopian and all its terror and thrills. It was really different for me as the world was completely changed and the settings were unusual which drew me to the genre.

So there’s my top 6 gateway books. How about you? What introduced you to your favourite genre? What is that book that really got you into reading? It’s actually really interesting to look back and see how your reading style started out. I’d love to hear your ones 😀

 

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

8 thoughts on “The Books That Made Me Love Reading”

  1. The Hollow by Jessica Verday introduced me to my favourite genre. It is an amazing paranormal/fantacy romance story, and till this day I love this book. I always kick start my year with it. It sounds stupid to read the same book each year, but I don’t know, is kind of a tradition for me now.
    I think the book that got me into reading was my grade 7 English prescribed book: Child in Darkness by Robert Hill.
    In grade 12 my English prescribed book was Juluis Caesar by William Shakespeare and I HATED every single page! After that I didn’t really like reading anymore and it was about a year later when my friend told me to read the House of Night series by P.C and Kristin Cast and that is what got me back into reading.

    Like

    1. I think it’s great you have a reading tradition thing! I haven’t read most of the books you’ve mentioned except for House of Night. The first book for that was pretty good but I haven’t read the rest. Any good?

      Like

      1. To be honest, I dislike the rest of the series. From I think book 5 Cast gave a chapter to each character and I didn’t like it at all, it felt… messy. And the characters became soooo annoying!!! Just when you think Cast finally killed a stupid character, BAM something happens and the person is back in the story. I just stopped reading it after book 8. Couldn’t handle that crap anymore. But book 1 to 4 is great.

        Like

  2. Hunger games is definetly a series I need to give credit too for just being so unbelivably awesome and reawakening the book lover in me again. That series was just what I needed in my life at that moment in time. Twilight *cringe* also brought me out of a major reading slump when i was younger. But i don’t like talking about that book all that much to be honest , haha!
    and OMG don’t even get me started on how awesome Anna and the French Kiss was… St.Clair.. *swoooon*
    Lily

    Like

  3. I agree with you about Twilight. I used to like it and I think that was my first Vampire book then I read Vampire Academy which is I think is much better that Twilight. Hmm, I think VA is my favorite vampire series. I also like The Mediator series! It’s the only Meg Cabot book that I like though.

    What is that book that really got you into reading? Without a doubt, it’s Harry Potter. It’s the first series that I have read and collected. After reading HP, I can’t stop reading anymore.

    Like

    1. VA used to be my favourite vampire series but then Bloodlines came out. I know some people don’t like it as much but I think it’s awesome. Mainly cuz there’s more Adrian 😀

      I get why you don’t like other Meg Cabot books (too much girly chat for me). I really enjoyed Avalon High and Airhead though cuz they were mixed with a sort of paranormal- ish plot.

      Like

      1. I’m reading Bloodlines too. Adrian and Sydney are just so meant to be. Even in VA, I knew there’s something about to happen between those two!

        Like

Let's talk about it

