Review: Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

FlippedFlipped
Wendelin Van Draanen
Standalone
Published May 2003

Read This: Anyone who has had that middle school crush

It’s not a book I would’ve chose from its blurb. I mean how I came across it was a total random chance. And now for my story rant. I saw a cute little movie playing on the TV and it turned out it was this movie called Flipped. Now, I’ve seen this movie on some chick flick lists but the blurb of eighth graders falling in love seemed really dumb. In the end, I watched the whole movie and realised it was pretty good and that there’s was book. So I read it.

If I had to describe this book in 3 words it would be cute, short and sweet. I can’t really say much about it because its short and it has a simple concept: the one sided crush. It’s the length of the book that really bugs me. It doesn’t feel rushed it’s just that it feels like you ate a chocolate and it melts in your mouth after a minute. I wouldn’t have expected much from the length but in this book, that turns into so much more. The POVs really gave the book a nice touch. Alternating between Bryce and Juli, the story is really developed. We kind of get that alternate view love story that you always secretly wish for.

The character development was really done well. I liked how Juli and Bryce sort of developed opposite each other with Bryce falling in love and Juli falling out of love. Makes sense considering the title. We get a learn a lot about perspective. For example, let’s talk about the Bakers’ front lawn. Bryce’s dad think that Juli’s dad is just lazy for not fixing it up. But it turns out that they’re not even meant to be maintaining the garden, their landlord is, and that they can’t afford to fix it up because of Mr Baker’s disabled brother. See that just changed our look on the Bakers completely. It this that really gave the book a depth that you don’t expect in an eighth grader story.

It was interesting going along this little bit of their life. So many books have like a main character who has some kind of trait that suddenly makes things happen in their world. Flipped just gives us a little slice of childhood which I think is really refreshing.

Rating: 4/5 extra sweet bamboo sticks

4

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

