Review: All That Glows by Ryan Graudlin

All That GlowsAll That Glows
Ryan Graudlin
Standalone
February 2014

Goodreads

It’s been ages since I’ve written a review… I need to start reading again. I’ve read a lot of reviews for this book and many of them were saying stuff like “This book was crap”. I am happy to say though, it isn’t crap.

I think it’s really the beginning of the story really brought it down. I was interested in the mythology and it was applied well but everything just seemed rushed.Actually the hole pacingwas weird. We meet Emrys then suddenly we’re forced to learn everything all at once. Then suddenly we slow down so much.Β It was like someone just pulled the break out of the blue. And we’re forced to endure this pace for half of the middle.

image

Then it came with instalove. And everyone knows how instalove affects anyone.

It does get a lot better as it goes along though. All the characters get more depth to them and the mystery starts happening. We get traitors and awesome faeries and stuff. Then the ending was a big hit for me. I felt like it perfectly tied the book together.

The characters for me were nothing memorable. Emrys was a kind of dull overused “I’m an independent woman” kind of character. But hey, at least she’s better than a weak girl personality. Richard was sort of the on paper bad boy turned good. The most interesting character for me was Breena. She has a kind of charisma that draws you to her. The romance though was pretty interesting. For Emrys, there were really high stakes so even though it was instalove, it really gave the book a punch of reality and a sense of suspense.

So overall, I don’t have much to say about the book hence the sort of short review. It’s good but the beginning… I can’t forgive it.

3

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

