Review: Alienated by Melissa Landers

Alienated (Alienated, #1)Alienated
Melissa Landers
Alienated #1
February 2014

This book was a really anticipated one for me. I thought the plot sounded awesome, there’s hot aliens and a new culture. I compare this book a lot with Star Crossed which is a TV show with a similar premise. I was really expecting something good because I loved Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout and I thought this might even be better.  What did I get though? A sort of  “Yeah, ok” kind of feeling.

I should start by saying that I don’t hate it but I just can’t like it either. Let’s start with a positive. The world seemed really interesting and we actually get to learn a lot about the L’eihrs (don’t even ask me to pronounce that). I liked how they had their own language and communication signs. They had a neck touch for hello and if it’s on the other side of the neck it’s an embrace. I felt like that really reflected our many different cultures in the world.They both introduce a new culture really well. However, they also both execute it really horribly. I know this makes no sense, but keep going. In Star Crossed, it’s the weird dropping of phrases every now and then. In Alienated, it’s the blog posts. Oh my god, the blog posts. They were actually the most annoying part of the story. They did play a minor part in introducing the world but I just can’t stomach unimportant things disturbing my plot reading. I mean, they get the world across but couldn’t that been done in any other way?

Ok now onto the characters. I think the plot focused way too much on Cara and Aelyx. That’s where it mostly didn’t work for me. The romance wasn’t well developed enough. It felt like they were just attracted to each other because they were different species. There wasn’t anything that clicked with them and, as they were our narrators, they just didn’t click with me.

I thought Cara was just a weak character. She’s a character who could have easily been replaced and I probably would’ve liked it more. She was a very interesting debater though and I appreciate a girl who has brains. Aelyx is a more interesting character (thank you for putting him in) and he evened out Cara’s annoyingness. I loved him confusion on everything which was funny but believable. But seriously, I’ve said this for Dimitri and I’ll say this for Aelyx: that ponytail, get it out.

I have to say I’m pretty impressed with the L’eihr transfer program. It’s very well thought out. The L’eihrs aren’t just in one school but they’re in different continents and experiencing the different cultures. I love how Eron, the one in China, starts looking at his family’s kid as his little brother which I thought was really touching and was a nice way to show them integrating.

Rating: 3/5 bamboo sticks

3

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Review: Alienated by Melissa Landers”

Let's talk about it

