Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Cress (Lunar Chronicles, #3)Let the Kai-fest begin.
Cress
Marissa Meyer
Lunar Chronicles #3
February 2014

I couldn’t help but buy this one straight out of Dymocks. Cress is a really strong addition to this amazing series. It gave me laughs, tears and Kai.

I really liked how we explore the world a bit more. The setting for this series is one of the best I’ve ever read about. Cress doesn’t fail to deliver my dose of awesome futuristic world. We also get to see more of it in Cress when we travel to Africa and meet up with Dr Erland again.

I warned you about my Kai obsession before so here comes the gushing. Arg he’s so awesome. To fully understand my love for him, here’s my quote of the day:

“Oh, come on. Please don’t tell me you’re obsessing over this wedding because you actually think you’re in love with him?’

“I am,” said Iko. “Madly

-Jacin to Cinder about Kai

Yep. That describes my feelings.

Cress was a great new character. She was a breath of fresh air for me because her personality is very different from Cinder’s and Scarlet’s. While they are tough, Cress is more fragile and tech savvy. She’s very quiet and innocent which gives us a great view to see this world in.

Another character that shone through was Carswell Thorne. He was a very interesting character who reminded me of Adrian from VA/Bloodlines. They’re both charismatic and have big egos but they’re sensitive, sweet and funny.

My heart was pounding in the last quarter. The suspense was played on really well here. I loved how we get to see Cinder’s abilities in the ending mission and admire how far she’s come. It was a nice bookend to her old life.

I have only two complaints about this book. The first is a minor one. I felt like the plot wasn’t really adding anything to the central problem. It’s kinda like Cinder and Scarlet were both shooting up while Cress just sort of drives along a flat road. It feels like we just had to add Cress onto the crew.

The second is that there’s just so much going on. We get different POVs almost every chapters and it really got me confused. I lost track of the many storylines and had to check back a few times. However, this did work to it’s advantage when we leave the scene on a cliffhanger. And we got Kai scenes Awesome πŸ˜€

Rating: 4.5/ Kai (he’s definitely a 5/5 and I got the pics of him off the Lunar Chronicles Wik. Too lay to crop the first pic of him in half so I’m just gonna say his head is half of him)

Character KaiCharacter KaiCharacter KaiCharacter KaiKai kaito lunar chronicles portrait

Author: Prima

Still crazy obsessed with High School Musical and is still disappointed real life high school did not involved as much singing and dancing. Almost 18 but relates to 5 year olds. Super cynical about Disney movies and kdramas but still loves them. Blogs about books and feels.

3 thoughts on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer”

  1. Loved your review! I too went out to Dymocks the day it was released because I couldn’t wait!
    I can see why you thought Cress was just like driving along a flat road. But for me – with Captain Creswell… oh my… Now I’m starting to sound obsessed and am filling up your comments with my fangirlling… sorry! But I think we get a lot of character development for all the characters and that it will make the Lunar Chronicles journey richer in the long run.

    Like

Leave a Reply

