In the Ring: Amplified and Dirty Little Secret

Recently I’ve read two books that are both rotate around music and bands. And so from this day forward I decree that if I read 2 books with similar ideas around the same time as each other, they shall be put into The Ring where they wil be forced to fight to the death  (like how I tried to imitate President Snow and totally failed?).

On the right we have:

Amplified (Amplified, #1)Amplified
Tara Kelly
Amplified #1
October 2011

I love music and guitar. However I suck at playing guitar. This book let’s me live through Jasmine, a girl guitar playing genius.  I found her sometimes really selfish and too stubborn. She’s all like “Oh, I’m a rich girl who’s dad won’t let me not go to college to pursue my music”. Stop it, Jasmine, just stop it. 

The thing that really put me off this book though was the lyrics. Yes, I am a hater of lyrics in books. They just don’t sit well with me. I love songs. I love books. I don’t like songs in books. There’s just no tune to them and I find myself wanting a tune that will never exist.

I really liked the rock band that Jasmine joins. I loved all of the characters especially Veta and Felix. Veta is a badass and just overall awesome. Felix reminds me of Chien Po from Mulan. I adored him and his teddy bear personality. The romance between Jasmine and Sean was pretty good. I was rooting for them because they were the obvious match. It was a neat, clean package of cute romance so I was happy with it, just not fangirling. If we’re talking about fangirling though, can we please get a story about Zoe and Nick. They are the cutest couple by far. Time to find some fanfic.

VS

Dirty Little SecretDirty Little Secret
Jennifer Echols
July 2013

A country band doing covers? That’s more my speed. I immediately related to this book quicker. Also the plot for this book is much more interesting. Bailey is being hidden by her family from the world. She’s their “dirty little secret” (I have just realised the title’s true meaning!) Bailey and her sister Julie used to be a pair. Now Julie has signed a solo deal and the recording company has told Bailey to keep her music hidden. To keep her hopes and dreams hidden. That plot really tugged at my heartstrings and got me involved in it.

The characters in this book were really strong. From awesome Ace to dirty minded Sam (who is so much adorable because of it), they felt very real. The relationships in the book thought didn’t make as much sense. Bailey hates her sister, then at the end she doesn’t. And her parents… they kinda sucked. I mean what kind of parents tells kids to give up on their dreams?

Victor:

Amplified: 3/5 bamboo sticks

3

Dirty Little Secret: 3.5/5 bamboo sticks

3.5

Amplified was just too unrelatable for me. Jasmine was a total pain and I just can’t relate to her situation. It also had a lot of complicated terms in it that I just couldn’t understand. Dirty Little Secret was much more enjoyable for me.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

2 thoughts on “In the Ring: Amplified and Dirty Little Secret”

  1. OMG I totally thought you nailed copying president snow until you mentioned you were copying president snow! I was like “HEY THAT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING PRESIDENT SNOW WOULD SAY” and than BAM you said you were quoting president snow haha. In all honesty I haven’t read either of these two book but I like you’re idea revolving them and putting them to a fight till the death 😉

    Like

Let's talk about it

