The Greek Way (Part 1)

survey

Ok so I saw this awesome survey over at Flip The Page with greek mythology. Being a giant Percy Jackson fan (although Heroes of Olympus is another matter…) I just knew I had to do this. So technically Jasmine has listed out the 12 Olympians and some characters from the PJO and HOO series and paired them with a book. You can find her list and the instructions here. I’m gonna take her up on the suggestion of splitting this survey into 2 parts so here’s my Gods section:

The Gods:

Zeus/ Jupiter 

God of the Sky and Thunder/ King of the Gods

Favourite book: I am so torn about this. I love The Golden Lily but I also love PJO. Finally I decided on Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I think it really just did every well for me from the awesome setting and the brilliant characters and plot. I love it.

Poseidon/ Neptune

God of the Seas and Earthquakes

Book that drowned you in feels: Hands down it’s The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead. Nothing even comes close to beating this one. Close behind it is The Golden Lily because you can never have enough of Adrian and Sydney and both of them together.

Hades/ Pluto

God of the Underworld

Favourite Book with a dark/ omnious plot: The Maze Runner by James Dashner. I love it and I hate it. It’s mysterious, it’s got the creepy worm things. Definitely dark and it’s definitely my favourite for it. I’m reading Anna Dressed in Blood right now and I’m loving it so this could change.

Hera/ Juno

Goddess of Marriage and Family

Cutest Fictional Couple: Anna Oliphant and Etienne St. Clair from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. They’re hilarious!  They also have this really cute and fun vibe together and just made me want to see more of them.

Athena/ Minerva

Goddess of Wisdom, Handicraft and Strategic Warfare

Series with the best world building: I’m gonna agree with Jasmine here and put the Harry Potter series. I even said in my Top Ten Tuesday post yesterday that I would really love to live in the world and eat their candy. Especially those chocolate frogs.

Aphrodite/ Venus

Goddess of Love and Beauty

Most beautiful cover on a 2014 release: I’m a sucker for purple sunsets and clean fonts so what I Thought Was True by Huntely Fitzpatrick takes this prize.

What I Thought Was True

Ares/ Mars

God of War and Bloodshed

Most Violent Book you’ve ever read: This one is kind of hard to answer because I don’t really read violent books. I’m gonna go with Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas for a completed book because some of the descriptions were just gruesome. For the incompleted book, Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake sweeps this category away and probably still will when I finish it.

Hephaestus/ Vulcan

God of Blacksmiths and Fire

Hot swoon worthy character: My answer shall forever be Adrian Ivashkov from the Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead. He’s funny, he’s sensitive and he’s pretty. Really who else can top him??

Artemis/ Diana 

Goddess of the Hunt and Virginity

Favourite Kickass Heroine: Or in my case heroines. This is tie between Lilac from These Broken Stars, Cinder from Cinder and Ruby from The Darkest Minds. I think it’s because all these heroines are put into a crazy situation and they totally own it. One of them was a socialite who trekked through the jungle in heels, another is a cyborg with an oppressing stepmum and the last was put into what was essentially a concentration camp when she was 11. Seriously they’re just awesome.

Phoebus Apollo/ Apollo

God of Light and Healing

Sequel Book that Redeemed its series: I’ve never actually hated a book, read the next and loved it again. Usually if I hate a book then I don’t bother reading the sequel. I think thought the closest would be The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead. I read Bloodlines and thought that it was a bit boring and dull but I read the sequel and I was hooked.

Hermes/ Mercury

God of Thieves and Commerce/ Messenger of the Gods

Book with the best message: This one was totally unexpected but the more I thought about it, the more The Host by Stephanie Meyer floated in my head. This book really showed us to not judge the different because we don’t know them. I think it really reflected our society now in how we judge people by appearance, beliefs etc more than their true self.

Hestia/ Vesta

Goddess of the Hearth and Home

Book with the most relatable story: Ummmm… I can’t think of anything for this… Hey I normally read paranormal so can I use that as a reason?

Demeter/ Ceres

Goddess of Fertility and Agriculture

Favourite Bookish Setting: Harry Potter again. Really want their candy. And brooms. And wands. And lack of math classes.

Dionysus/ Bacchus

God of Wine and Celebration

2014/ 2015 read I am most anticipating: CRESS BY MARISSA MEYER!!! OMG FEBRUARY COME QUICKER. NEED MORE CINDER AND KAI!! NEED MORE SCARLET AND WOLF!!! AND I NEED TO MEET CRESS AND GET HER TOGETHER WITH THORNE!! UGH!!!

Anyways, there’s my first half of this survey. Hoped you enjoyed it. Will post the next part tomorrow!

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

6 thoughts on “The Greek Way (Part 1)”

  1. This is a great idea! I love Greek mythology. And I love raving about books.. So.. Yeah! This is a great survey thingy.

    sidenote: Who else can top Adrian? *cough* Dimitri *cough cough*

    Tee hee. 😀

    Like

  2. Excellent list! I haven’t read Cinder and The darkest minds yet (hope to get to them soon) but I’m so with you on Lilac! Just finished These broken stars and her traipsing around in that green dress and heels was so awesome!
    sidenote: NO Sarah, as cool as Dimitri is, he so DOES NOT top Adrian! He’s always going to be the best!

    Like

    1. Totally agree with your sidenote (Adrian all the way!) I fell in love with These Broken Stars mostly because of Lilac. I think you should like Cinder and The Darkest Minds. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on them 🙂

      Like

Let's talk about it

