Review: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus, #4)The House of Hades
Rick Riordan
Heroes of Olympus #4
October 2013

Finally finished it! And holy crap was it good. Im saying this because it kept me up till 2 am reading. The House of Hades was a much darker novel than I expected from Rick Riordan. I have to say I’m very impressed. He’s always been a great author but now he’s got more of a darker tone which just makes the story that much more interesting.

This book has just blown my mind by how invested I got with the characters. Every one of our 7 leads and their strengths were utilised very well. I was really happy that all of them were there and were helping. It’s really easy to just blend characters into the background but this book helps all of them shine. They’ve all matured a lot and it just got me really emotional to see them all grown up and cool. The supporting characters were really fleshed out too. Especially that one person who I won’t named in fear of spoiling because guys, spoiling is not fun. I can tell you this because I was spoiled of this character. Sigh.

I do realise now why I got stuck a third in for 2 months. I mentioned that I was happy that all of the characters were there. Unfortunately, this is also what made me unhappy. There was just too many leads. I like some of them (LEO, WHY ARE YOU SO COOL?), I don’t like some of them (ugh, Piper and Jason). It kind of reminds me of a giant kpop group. You might not like all of them, but you’ll stick around because you like other members of the group.

We also get some cameos in this one, some more important than the others. I think this is the first we’ve seen of Grover in the Heroes of Olympus series. Then we have some of Percy’s past enemies that have been reborn and some old friends which I think is a nice nod to the PJO series.

As cool as the characters are though, the plot is kind of forgettable besides from the big gun monsters/gods we meet in it. It’s a continuation of the quest from Mark of Athena so it’s as action packed as sequels tend to be. Plus it’s a pretty big book of almost 600 pages. It got dull in parts but it still shines. You know why? Because Rick Riordan writes it.

He always has this way of writing that makes me relate to it and has amazing descriptions of the creatures and gods. In this book though, he’s got the humour mixed in with the darkness. I mean, it’s the book leading up to the finale so I guess he had to do it but he still manages to keep it light in parts which is awesome. I took photos of so many of the quotes that I laughed at. Thumbs up for SPQR pyjamas.

Rating: 4.5/5 bamboo sticks

4.5

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

3 thoughts on “Review: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan”

  1. I loooovvvvveeeee all of his books!! I am so looking forward to reading Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard! It is hard to find other girls my age that like his books. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m really excited to read Magnus Chase. Really looking forward to reading about Norse gods! I know what you mean, it is hard to find girls who have read Rick Riordan books.

      Like

Let's talk about it

