Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat FriendThe DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend
Kody Keplinger
September 2010

Continuing with my romance themed books, it’s The DUFF aka The Designated Ugly Fat Friend. I’d say this book is closer to Racing Savannah than Anna and the French Kiss. They’ve got similar feels to them in how they both have poor girl/rich boy romances. Other than that though, The DUFF is pretty different in a good way.

The characters in this book are really relatable to, unlike in Racing Savannah (rich boys with first world problems don’t cut it for me) . There’s Bianca, the DUFF for her super hot friends Casey and Jessica, who doesn’t believe in falling in love straight away. She starts a friends with benefits thing with Wesley,a hot guy from her school who sleeps around with heaps of girls. This relationship helps Bianca escape from her less than perfect life. Now this is where I start thinking of this book as the half that was meh and the half I really liked. I felt that the relationship was explained well. Bianca’s parents are falling out and it’s reasonable that she wants to escape from it. That being said though…

Of course, I couldn’t believe it fully. I mean this girl is described in the blurb as cynical and she hates partying and stuff but she kisses the guy she hates in the first chapter or 2. Then she goes straight into bed with him for about half a book. That’s the half I really couldn’t stand to read it. I believed Bianca was a strong smart character for about the first chapter. From then on, her actions are just weird for someone of her personality.

Now the last half was the one I really enjoyed. Bianca was much more interesting here as she was a person who thought more than meeting with Wesley everyday. This is where I finally liked Bianca because she’s dealing with her problems than avoiding them. I think the best part of the whole book was the ending. It was such a great way to conclude the whole DUFF thing as well as Bianca and Wesley.

Rating: 3/5 bamboo sticks

3

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

1 thought on “Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger”

Let's talk about it

