Review: Racing Savannah by Miranda Kenneally

Racing SavannahRacing Savannah
Miranda Kenneally
Hundred Oaks #4
December 2013

The Hundred Oaks series has been really up there for me. And how could it not be? They’re all beautiful, interesting love stories that really make an impact on you. So I was really excited to read this one. Racing Savannah is a beautiful, sort of interesting love story but lacks the oomph the other three have.

Let’s start with Savannah. I do admire her for chasing what she wants and helping her family

out. I really, really wanted to like her. However, she is a really weak character. I got no feeling off her at all. Her story is that she’s poor and loves horses. I never got any sense that she was panicking over the lack of money. I mean, sure she’s worried that the baby might have a bad life but I never got any real feeling out of it.

Then there’s Jack. Oh, Jack what you could’ve been. He’s the rich boy whose only problem is that he thinks he’s not living up to his dad’s expectations. He was so annoying with his hot/cold attitude. One minute he’s like “I wanna be together”. The next he’s “We’re friends with benefits”. This is probably the only place where I feel sympathetic towards Savannah because she’s risking more than him in this relationship.

This book was good for one thing though: seeing the other characters from the other three books four years on. Will and Parker get married (Kate and Drew are her bridesmaids. I love how close she and Kate are now!), Sam is still awesome and so is Jordan who gets a job as the football coach at the school. And Matt wears flip flops to the wedding. He’s so cool (unlike Jack Goodfornothing).

Other than those cameos, there wasn’t much to the plot. It might be because I don’t like poor girl/rich boy romances but the whole plot was flat for me. It felt like nothing happened. I can’t even pick out one memorable scene besides the horse races. I never felt that there was a bad guy in the book. It was just lots of “We can’t be together” situations FOR NO REASON (everyone accepts them in the end — what was the point of the book then?!). That is not acceptable for a Hundred Oaks book.

Rating: 2/5 bamboo sticks

2

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

6 thoughts on “Review: Racing Savannah by Miranda Kenneally”

  1. I was tempted by this book (having not read any of the others… do I need to?) because of the horsey references. I love me a horse in a book!

    But I had my reservations about it.. and maybe they weren’t unfounded.

    a really helpful review! Thanks! 🙂

    Like

    1. The horse scenes were the best part of this book but it feels like the author stuck it in so it would be different to the other Hundred Oak books.

      You might like it though… I just didn’t because I’ve read the others, liked them a lot and was disappointed by Racing Savannah (maybe it’s best if you don’t read the others then…)

      Like

Let's talk about it

