Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)Anna and the French Kiss
Stephanie Perkins
Anna and the French Kiss #1
December 2010

This is probably the cutest book I’be ever read. End of review.

Nah, just joking. Not about the cute thing but about the end of review. I was expecting this book to be cute (which was why I picked it to start of the reading year in a happy mood) but I wasn’t expecting such depth in it. The plot your standard bubbly romcom storyline. It’s the characters that makes this book shine. Specifically one character. Let me give you a hint. His name starts with Etienne and it ends in St Clair.

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)

Random side note: I really think that the cover doesn’t represent the plot and characters well and I much prefer the other cover (shown on the right).

I did mention the plot was the standard stuff but it was really well written. Stephanie Perkins made me believe that an 18 yr old girl was writing this because it’s so realistic. Anna does misunderstand a lot of things but I realise this is how real life goes too. She only thinks about herself a lot of times so I get why people hate this book. It is definitely a first world problem book so if you don’t like chick flicks, rom coms or anything of the sort then this book isn’t for you.

Ok, now to all those who have read this book I now see why you love Etienne St Clair so much. I think I can sum up my love for him all in two quotes. “I have one name. People just split it weirdly” and ““Not because he was a decent bloke, mind you. He was an arse. But he was a short arse, like meself.”” He was literally the perfect guy. He’s kind, funny, is short but embraces it (I love how his email is etiennebonaparte) and he has good hair.

I really liked how Anna referred to him as their relationship progressed. At the start she calls him St Clair like eveyone else does. Then they get closer and he’s Etienne. But then they fight and he’s back to St Clair.

The other characters feel a bit flat, however, which I totally get because Anna and Etienne take up so much of the book. I did like Rashmi a lot though because she was the friend turned best friend (sort of). I also loved Meredith because she was so nice and accepting of Anna. Oh, who am I kidding. I loved everyone in this book.

“It was so cute. I want to cry”

And then the ending. OH THE ENDING. It was perfect and I might’ve collapsed from Etienne overload and I might’ve also almost cried.

Another thing the author did right for me was the setting. She describes Paris so well that even I, a person who’s never been to Paris, can feel it’s magic all the way from Australia. I loved the little touring the city and the bonding moments. And the food sounds so delicious I can already taste it. A trip to Paris is a definite must after reading this.

Rating: It wasn’t perfect but I really enjoyed reading it so 5/5 bamboo sticks

5

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

8 thoughts on “Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins”

  1. I am so glad you loved this book. I thought it was a cute read also, and the characters were just awesome. Etienne is such an adorable character. I love how the author described Paris as well. I felt like I was there when Etienne was touring Anna. I can’t wait to read Lola and the Boy Next Door!

    Like

Let's talk about it

