Looking Back at 2013

best books 2013 end of year survey

With a survey from The Perpetual Page Turner! She’s got these awesome surveys and I’ve seen this everywhere on my reader. I have cheated a bit though and only did 10 points.

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? 

Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)Ink (Paper Gods, #1)

This one is hard because my opinions always change over time. I’m probably gonna say it’s a tie between Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin and Ink by Amanda Sun.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines, #4)

Sadly, it’s The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead. Yes, I know I gave it a 4.75 rating but I was expecting to fully love it like The Golden Lily and The Indigo Spell.

 

 

 

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)

The Maze Runner by James Dashner came out of nowhere for me. It seemed like such a dark novel and I was all ready to suffer reading it. But the writing just grabbed me and I ended up loving it.

 

 

 

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy, #1)I don’t really recommend many books but one I do remember pressuring my friend to read was Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep (link goes to Midnight Frost because I read Touch of Frost before I started this blog)

 

 

 

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Obsidian (Lux, #1)

The Daemon Black books aka the Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout. I devoured the first 3 and have the 4th which I unfortunately started during my reading block… so it’s still waiting for me to finish it.

 

 

 

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)Does Alexandra Bracken count? I read Never Fade this year but read the Darkest Minds right on New Year’s Eve last year into New Year’s Day this year. Ok I’m just gonna say she counts.

 

 

 

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you? 

Catching JordanRight until I read Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally, I only read books with futuristic/paranormal elements in it. When I saw a glowing review for Catching Jordan though, I found a copy and couldn’t put it down.

 

 

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

Hover (The Taking, #2)Read Hover by Melissa West in a few hours. It was that good.

 

 

 

 

9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Is it unfair to say Scarlet again? I will need to fangirl up on Kai scenes before Cress is released.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

Black City (Black City, #1)Ok another tie between Ink and Black City by Elizabeth Richards.

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

Let's talk about it

