Review: Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

Touch of Power (Healer, #1)Touch of Power
Maria V. Snyder
Healer #1
December 2011

Blurb on Goodreads

The world lies in tatters. Her touch is the only salvation.

I blame Apple for making me read this book (it was free on iBookstore). I’m still not sure if that’s a good blame or a bad blame. Well, at least it got me out of my reading block. Get ready for a ton of references to other books. Slight spoilers ahead.

Touch of Power –> Eragon (Christopher Paolini)

The blurb reminded me of Eragon (which was an meh book for me) so I didn’t read it. Now, afterI’ve read it, I still think it’s kind of like Eragon. Minus the cool dragons. I do love the little roadtrip they had at the start which I think was a nice way of introducing us. And that’s probably all I liked about the plot. Actually, I will list out all the things I liked about this book, so I can rage freely after it:

  • No instalove
  • The world is interesting with it’s eleven magical power types and the Peace/Death Lilies
  • It has a pretty cover

Niceness done. Raging can start.

I was really confused in the first half because I felt like the author hadn’t really described the world enough for it to make sense. This was literally what was going on in my head reading those first chapters.

Take for example, the lilies. They’re just suddenly shoved into the story around Chapter 2 and we really don’t get an explanation about them until Chapter 8-9. Then there was the magicians. Avry tells us there’s eleven different types in Chapter 5. When does she tell us what those types were? Chapter 9. Don’t get me wrong, I really liked this world. It just needed a bit more explanation.

Onto the characters. They were pretty flat too. The group she travels with is pretty forgettable. There was five guys with her- five!- and one of them even dies. Do I care? No. His death was so pointless in the overall plot I didn’t even care. It didn’t motivate Avry or do anything really.

Now here’s more references I promised you:

Avry –> Celaena (Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas)

Avry herself was an ok character. They both are badass and have their own secrets. I really liked how Avry was such a mysterious character even for the readers. Or maybe it’s just  because the plot was so undeveloped.

Tohon –> Valentine (Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare)

The other character I feel I should mention somewhere here is our bad guy, Tohon (what kind of name is that?) He was the villain who has brains and thinks things through really well. Both him and Valentine give off that creepy scientist vibe. Did anyone else get that vibe? It’s really refreshing to see a villain with this feel. I’m getting bored of the wanting revenge ones. It’s one more thing the book got right.

Rating: 2.5/5 bamboo sticks

2.5

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

8 thoughts on “Review: Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder”

  1. After loving the pants off the Study series and the Glass series, I was left feeling a whole lot of ‘meh’ after reading this book. You’re right, the characters are just… flat! It’s still readable and I’ve continued with the series.. but it’s not Yelena and Valek! ^.^

    Like

  2. : )
    Hi panda

    Ur reviews are great, fun and easy to read… Definitely keep going! If u need any help, like, EVER, just ask!

    – Aakriti

    Like

Let's talk about it

