Review: The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead

The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines, #4)The Fiery Heart
Richelle Mead
Bloodlines #4
November 2013

Just finished. Can’t speak. I want to cry.

“Just finished writing what may be the most powerful scene in the VA/Bloodlines series. And I don’t say that lightly after Shadow Kiss.”

When Richelle Mead said that about the ending, she wasn’t joking. My broken heart and in denial mind can vouch for that. Sorry about the slightly long review but I just need to get my thoughts out right now.Β 

How does Richelle Mead manage to balance the romance and plot so well? Take this scene for example. Sydney and Adria are talking about finding Marcus in a dream then it just flows straight into talking about their relationship.

Sydney is her usual awesome self about this matter:

she pulled out a chart from her messenger bag entitled Oral- Contraceptive Comparison.

And Adrian?

The only part of that I understood was “perfect cleavage”, but I had a feeling we weren’t thinking of the same thing.

Yep, he’s his awesome self.

Surprisingly though, Adrian wasn’t my favourite character in TFH. And who, you ask, could beat this awesome good looking guy? Angeline. It’s not that Adrian was boring to read about, no. We get his POV (finally!) in TFH and we get to see what spirit does to him. That’s definitely not boring. But Angeline…she’s just so funny to read about and her courage is amazing. On the other hand, there’s Zoe who literally I was screaming at to GET OUT OF THE BOOK CUZ YOU’RE KIND OF GETTING IN THE WAY OF SYDNEY AND ADRIAN’S RELATIONSHIP!!

To add to that last idea/outburst, I also have to say I didn’t quite like Sydney and Adrian’s relationship in TFH. I felt like it was just sex, sex, sex and more sex. There were some cute moments though and I know it’s probably cuz Zoe IS SO ANNOYING. Seriously, just get out of the book Zoe.

Now to the best part of this review: the plot. It starts off bright and happy and so it has to end dark and gloomy. My heart is freshly broken again and I have wait till next July for it to mend. Richelle Mead’s writing is shining through in TFH. She can switch so flawlessly from couple moments to serious badass moments. And from almost perfect moments to sad sad endings. WHY DO YOU DO THIS? I CAN’T STAND ANOTHER CLIFFHANGER!!!

Along with that killer ending (literally), we get a whole lot of progress in this book ranging from relationships blooming/reblooming/recoupling and blood tattoos. TFH addresses not only our Palm Spring morois and dhampirs but the whole of their society. It just makes the book so much more different from the others in the series. However, like the others, it does start of a bit slow and then you start rolling down the hill, gaining speed, until you hit the bottom with a bang (aka that killer ending).

The Verdict:Β Read it. Then come back and we can talk about the awesome parts or more likely, cry with me over the cliffhanger.

Rating: 4.75/5 bamboo sticks

5

 

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead”

  1. The ending to TFH killed me. And I totally agree with you about Sydney and Adrian.. I felt like they jumped into the dirrrty far to easily. Like.. going from none.. to ALL THE FREAKIN’ TIME! I wanted more simmer rather than a constant sizzle, you know?

    Anyways! Cool review! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. The Indigo Spell had more cute romance moments and I like cute romance! You said it best with the simmer and sizzle thing. LOL, it’s so good that now I’m going to think of soup every time I think of them XD

      Like

Let's talk about it

