ARC Review: Fates by Lanie Bross

Fates (Fates, #1)Fates
Lanie Bross
Fates #1
February 2014

The Gist:

What if your destiny was to kill the one you love?

Corinthe is a Fate who has been exiled to our world. To gain permission to go back to her home, Pyralis Terra, she does has to make people’s fates happen. Her last assignment is to kill Lucas

Kaller. Just another job. Or so she thought.

Thanks to Random House Children’s fand Netgalley for the ARC!

Review:

So the best way to explain this book is to think Iron Fey meets Percy Jackson and Romeo and Juliet. Really it’s pretty epic. To be honest, I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this story as much as I did. Greek myths are my thing but serious tones aren’t. This book made it work. Ok, it was kind of slow in the beginning cuz our main couple is separated but then they’re together and everything is better.

The couple – not gonna even call them the main because they’re really the only characters in this novel – started off a bit too quick for my liking. They met, they talked once and suddenly fall in love. I get that they’re similar and stuff but no, that doesn’t happen. On the other hand, considering that everything in this world is based on fate, maybe it does. I really enjoyed reading about the couple anyway and I was in tears at the end.

What I really enjoyed, however, was the setting. It reminds me of the Iron Fey world. Its eerie, dark and full of things that shouldn’t work but do. Their little adventure takes them everywhere in the Crossroads and the worlds they traveled to really intrigued me. There’s a world where the plants eat blood to survive. Who doesn’t love bloodthirsty plants?

Third person POVs aren’t really my thing and Fates just proves it. I felt like it used the POVs well but I also felt it could have been more. There were parts when I wished I could feel more emotion. The story was really good but the POVs just made it feel not as good.

So overall, good story that is downgraded because of the third person POVs and the slight instalove.

Shelf: Books to read when bored

Rating: 3.5/5 bamboo sticks

3.5

Author: Prima @ Panda Hearts Books

Lover of books, rom coms and chocolate. I also spend way too much time on the internet.

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Fates by Lanie Bross”

Let's talk about it

